We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accommodation, Decent Location, Rude Innkeeper” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast
20 Lake Avenue, Corner of Lake Ave and Third Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic Accommodation, Decent Location, Rude Innkeeper”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The accommodation at Cabana Gardens is clean and basic. Rooms feature the bare minimum and common areas are much the same. As many have noted, breakfast is served from 9-10 AM with no exceptions. Overall, not worth the hefty price tag.

The most appalling thing about this B&B was the rude innkeeper who made our average experience poor. Rules are posted everywhere (but simple things like the internet passcode are no where to be found) and any requests (Can I leave my bag here past check out time? Can I leave my car here 2 hours past check out time?) are treated as impositions and generally shot down with ridiculous excuses.

Needless to say, I will be taking my hard-earned money to a (friendly) place where I'm not made to feel like a delinquent/child the next time I vacation at Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, Owner at Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
This reviewer appears not to be familiar with room rates of a resort beach town like Rehoboth Beach during peak summer season. We are the only in-town B and B with a swimming pool and we offer free parking which many B and B's in this town do not have. We also have rooms with a lake or pool view and some rooms have decks. Features that many Band B's in this town do not have. All of these factors influence the room rates. My rates are competitive and below average for comparable accommodations.

As to the comment about the 9 to 10 am breakfast: breakfast is available before 9am and never stops untill all guests have eaten which is usually around 10:15. On Saturday morning, the reviewer's traveling companion told me about 9:45 that she wanted to take a 20 minute run and asked if she should take breakfast items at that time to her room. I replied that she could but it wasn't necessary and that breakfast would be available when she returned from her run. She returned around 10:15 and had breakfast. At 10:30 the reviewer and her traveling companion were still at the breakfast table chatting. All other guests had eaten and left. Breakfast items were cleared at that time, but only after these guests indicated that they were finished eating.

As to the comment about leaving bags after check out, the reviewer's traveling companion asked this question because she was catching a bus at 7:30pm. I told her she could leave her bags in the lobby but with the understanding that we would not be responsible for the items left behind. She apparently did not like the answer and did not leave her bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a last-minute stay at Cabana Gardens last month. We had never been to this B&B before -- it turned out to be perfect for our getaway. The rooms, though basic, are very clean. We were glad that previous reviews mentioned the lack of toiletries -- we brought our own. The breakfast is basic but nice and sufficient, and the breakfast areas are spacious and relaxing. There is a small pool which is a nice amenity, and an outside shower to help prevent sandy rooms. The greenery on and surrounding the property is beautiful. Cabana Gardens is within walking distance of the beach and the main shopping/eating strip, and tucked away enough that that it’s not incredibly noisy (rooms with window AC units have the most white noise barrier, I imagine). The rates are reasonable, making a stay there a good deal for the area -- we hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms with window AC units have the most white noise barrier. These rooms overlook the pool and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabulous spectacular Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've visited many, many times in the last 15 yrs. This is an extremely comfortable, well-laid-out, totally immaculate facility. Helpful and friendly owner and staff. Location: convenient to beach, shops, restaurants, but quiet and peaceful nonetheless. Pool is a nice feature; it is well-kept. During every visit, the other guests were pleasant and nice to meet. Cabana Gardens ain't cheap, but nothing in Rehoboth is.

Room Tip: Every room we saw are quiet, attractive, desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean, well kept place. Not much to write about that wasn't said before. Luckily I read the reviews and brought my own shampoo as they don't supply any, probably the only accommodations in the free world that don't supply them but.. pool was chilly for July but again, very clean.. perfect location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cabana Gardens is truly a hidden gem. Right in the center of downtown Rehoboth: shops, restaurants, clubs, galleries all within a short walk. Yet a secluded and quiet atmosphere. One can choose from a variety of accomodations; swim in the inground pool; or just relax amongst the gardens. The owner's welcome driven by familiarity and pride. Gary provides a haven tucked away from worries, yet within a stones throw of exciting new memories....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not sure what the positive reviewers experienced, but based upon their reviews we (2 hetero couples - which put us in the minority in this gay friendly town) stayed for a long holiday weekend. On the positive side, the place is very clean (housekeeper Francesca does a great job and is quite friendly) and the beds were comfortable and the window air conditioners kept the rooms cool. The sheets and towels were fine. The pool is well maintained and a welcome respite from the summer heat. Rooms seem furnished by K-Mart and Target, with nothing of artistic, architectural or other design interest. No toiletries other than your regulation one bar of cheap soap. If you are expecting homey hospitality of a good B&B, forget it. The owner seems disconnected, annoyed, irritable and just down right crotchety and unwelcoming, doing only what is absolutely necessary and no more. The place is located 2+ blocks from the beach... make that two very long, crowded, blocks that in July heat seem like a mile. The breakfast is really nothing more than just a store bought muffin and (luke warm weak) coffee. There is no afternoon tea served. You can't get a cup of coffee early and you better set the alarm and get breakfast during the one hour window of opportunity. Better yet, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

my daughter and i visited in june. the rooms where clean,gary is so nice kind and friendly. the breakfast was nice .nice deck outside room, nice swimming pool did not get in it was rainy when we both were there.had a lovely time hope to be able to go back again soon...sue and penelope

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Cabana Gardens Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Cabana Gardens Bed And Breakfast
Cabana Gardens Hotel
Address: 20 Lake Avenue, Corner of Lake Ave and Third Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabana Gardens B & B was built in 1995 and is located on the corner of Third Street and Lake Avenue. We rent rooms with private baths and provide a continental breakfast every morning. Some rooms have direct access to a deck and a view of Lake Gerar or our inground swimming pool. Maximum of 2 adults per room.Cabana Gardens is a quiet retreat in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach just three blocks to the nearest beach and one quick block to the hustle and bustle of shopping and fine dining on Baltimore and Rehoboth Avenues.No children under 12. No pets. No smoking except in the outdoor areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list