We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary pet friendly inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Canalside Inn Rehoboth to your Saves list
Canalside Inn Rehoboth
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Contemporary pet friendly inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

What I loved: it's pet friendly! And upscale pet friendly! My favorite combination.we booked a canal side King room on the first floor next to reception and the room was lovely. Hardwood floors which are so much cleaner than carpet. The bathroom was beachy, large and well appointed with thoughtful black washcloths for removing makeup. Such a smart idea that I replaced my white ones at home with black. The room opens to a foyers with chair and closet, and provides mini blinds to add privacy from parking spaces in front. You can park right in front of your room and enter from the outside which is great when traveling with dogs. There is a small front porch and a,ole room inside to set up the dogs portable kennels which they sleep in at night or which we can zip them up in if we go to dinner. They are more relaxed when confined in their "den" especially when in a strange place and we don't worry that they'll get into something. Good peace of mind. The kennels both fit under the desk at the foot of the bed. The room included a kitchenette with sink, fridge and coffee maker. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, a few blocks walk into the beginning of town and probably 15-20 min walk to the beach, depending on how fast you walk. Great walking places for the dogs too. Breakfast is ok. I've been spoiled by the European Hotels who offer lavish breakfast buffets with everything from pancakes to omelets so it was quite a let down to find a bowl of pre-packaged muffins and some bagels. Plan on having breakfast or brunch at one of the great restaurants in town and enjoy the inn for what it provides. An upscale, clean, contemporary place in a great town near the beach that you can bring your well behaved dog to. I always appreciate nice, pet friendly places and this tops them all.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal side king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    35
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burke, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location. Beautifully decorated and clean. Breakfast was good--if you like carbs. Small but nice pool, also a hot tub in rear. Outdoor shower available on side. Beach chairs and bikes available for use. Pet-friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days over a long-weekend. The inn is so quiet and relaxing. The rooms upstairs are a little small but serve the purpose well. The deck has padded chairs and adirondack chairs to sit on to relax....the canal doesn't usually get many boats but a few do pass quietly through.
Breakfast is bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal and the yummiest coffee!!!!
The pet policy is awesome---the Inn owners have pets too. There's even a kitty cat at the inn.
This place is top-notch. Highly recommended! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night, very cute, clean b&b. they were willing to let my dog stay in a non pet room( my dog does not shed), very nice of them. Room was clean and nicely decorated with new tv, fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast in the morning was awesome, delicious muffins, bagels, orange juice, coffee and much more... I would definitely stay there again and reccomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Canalside Inn is a lovely little gem in a great town that doesn't offer many good hotels. The view is beautiful, the location peaceful and quiet. Its a very easy three or four block walk to downtown where the great shops, bars, and restaurants are. Its about a fifteen minute stroll to the boardwalk. Breakfast and coffee are served in a neat, modern dining room/lounge area. The place is immaculate. There is a hot tub and small dipping pool on the deck. The rooms are decorated in a fresh, hip and beachy style. They are spacious and spotless. Our room had two double beds, and a very efficient kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and supplies. Fluffy robes hanging in the closet. Upscale toiletries. So you would think the beds would just be super luxurious and comfy, yes? No! The worst, most uncomfortable mattress I have ever found in a hotel at any price point. If we hadn't been checking in so late, I would have asked the management if the beds in any of the other rooms were different, and if so, could we switch? Pretty please? Luckily we were only there for one night. As lovely as the rooms are, and as inviting as all the amenities are, its just such a shame that the beds were so bad. In the end, isn't a stay in a hotel all about getting a good night's sleep?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I took a mid-week trip to Rehoboth and finally stayed at the Canalside (i'd had my eye on it for years) mainly because they have great winter rates. I knew this place would be cute based on what i saw online, but when i opened that door to my room, my jaw literally dropped to the floor! Adorable!! Clean! fresh! I almost didn't want to leave!! Lobby area is equally cute as is the commune/breakfast room. The owners have done a great job with this place.

Highly recommend and is pet friendly (tho i did not take my dog this time).

Location is ok, within the town limits. If your staying in the off-season, no real issue since parking is free.

Will definitely be staying here again in the future!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You know how some people have a "Happy Place" well this is mine. We have stayed there a number of times over the past few years and always feel comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable, and recent bathroom upgrades are nice. We do not go during the season, usually spring and fall and find it quiet and relaxing. If you want a really nice place to stay in the area def. recommend. Downstairs is a lounge, computer, and tv's to watch video's on. Just got home from there and am already planning when I can go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalside Inn Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Address: Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canalside Inn Rehoboth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canalside Inn Rehoboth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalside Inn Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.