We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canalside Inn Rehoboth to your Saves list
Canalside Inn Rehoboth
Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days over a long-weekend. The inn is so quiet and relaxing. The rooms upstairs are a little small but serve the purpose well. The deck has padded chairs and adirondack chairs to sit on to relax....the canal doesn't usually get many boats but a few do pass quietly through.
Breakfast is bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal and the yummiest coffee!!!!
The pet policy is awesome---the Inn owners have pets too. There's even a kitty cat at the inn.
This place is top-notch. Highly recommended! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
87
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night, very cute, clean b&b. they were willing to let my dog stay in a non pet room( my dog does not shed), very nice of them. Room was clean and nicely decorated with new tv, fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast in the morning was awesome, delicious muffins, bagels, orange juice, coffee and much more... I would definitely stay there again and reccomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Canalside Inn is a lovely little gem in a great town that doesn't offer many good hotels. The view is beautiful, the location peaceful and quiet. Its a very easy three or four block walk to downtown where the great shops, bars, and restaurants are. Its about a fifteen minute stroll to the boardwalk. Breakfast and coffee are served in a neat, modern dining room/lounge area. The place is immaculate. There is a hot tub and small dipping pool on the deck. The rooms are decorated in a fresh, hip and beachy style. They are spacious and spotless. Our room had two double beds, and a very efficient kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and supplies. Fluffy robes hanging in the closet. Upscale toiletries. So you would think the beds would just be super luxurious and comfy, yes? No! The worst, most uncomfortable mattress I have ever found in a hotel at any price point. If we hadn't been checking in so late, I would have asked the management if the beds in any of the other rooms were different, and if so, could we switch? Pretty please? Luckily we were only there for one night. As lovely as the rooms are, and as inviting as all the amenities are, its just such a shame that the beds were so bad. In the end, isn't a stay in a hotel all about getting a good night's sleep?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I took a mid-week trip to Rehoboth and finally stayed at the Canalside (i'd had my eye on it for years) mainly because they have great winter rates. I knew this place would be cute based on what i saw online, but when i opened that door to my room, my jaw literally dropped to the floor! Adorable!! Clean! fresh! I almost didn't want to leave!! Lobby area is equally cute as is the commune/breakfast room. The owners have done a great job with this place.

Highly recommend and is pet friendly (tho i did not take my dog this time).

Location is ok, within the town limits. If your staying in the off-season, no real issue since parking is free.

Will definitely be staying here again in the future!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You know how some people have a "Happy Place" well this is mine. We have stayed there a number of times over the past few years and always feel comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable, and recent bathroom upgrades are nice. We do not go during the season, usually spring and fall and find it quiet and relaxing. If you want a really nice place to stay in the area def. recommend. Downstairs is a lounge, computer, and tv's to watch video's on. Just got home from there and am already planning when I can go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The only reason I will give this Inn 2 stars is because the room was clean and nicely decorated, but that really is the only positive I can pull from our experience there. Everything else was below our expectations by a long shot. The front desk staff was short and unwelcoming, and the outside area pier to go to the canal had broken steps and was unkempt. The canal view is a joke...one big ditch with a creek, a dirty gazebo filled with leaves etc.

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for a night with our pug. To advertise this place as being "pet Friendly" is quite confusing to us, because it certainly was not.
The trouble started once we crated our dog and walked to our car. We were driving out to Milton for the day, and while inputting information on our GPS, my boyfriend was called within 5 minutes and told that our dog has been barking intermittently and we must come back now to take care of it. We were pretty taken back because at home, our pug only barks a little bit when we first leave and other than that he sleeps! Plus, it was just 3 in the afternoon.. in January, and we weren't quite sure how many people would even be in the surrounding rooms to even hear him. Regardless, we pulled back in, and stood outside of our room to hear just how crazy our dog was acting, and didn't hear anything...so at that point he had obviously calmed down like he does when hes at home. We were so afraid that the staff would call us again and interrupt our day plans again that we decided the best option was to take our dog with us and keep him in our SUV. This ruined our dinner plans too because we felt bad for keeping our boy in the car the whole time we were gone!!! We wouldn't have brought him with us, and paid for him to be with us if we were going to be that inconvenienced by keeping him in our car the entire time!!! The next morning upon checking out we advised the front desk of how dissatisfied we were with the intolerance of us having a dog and the whole time we felt like we were being a burden. That is NO WAY to feel when you are a guest. The response was that "this wasn't a kennel, and they called us so soon and before anyone even complained, just to be proactive".... We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times, and have enjoyed our stay each time. Well decorated rooms. Innkeepers are efficient and friendly. One of the few pet friendly places to stay. Continental breakfast included. We tend to visit off season when the beaches are less crowded. About 5 blocks from the beach. Perfect location along the canal. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have a balcony with outside seating. King rooms are larger, so if you need space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalside Inn Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Address: Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canalside Inn Rehoboth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalside Inn Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.