We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a five star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canalside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canalside Inn to your Saves list
Canalside Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This could be a five star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Canalside Inn is a lovely little gem in a great town that doesn't offer many good hotels. The view is beautiful, the location peaceful and quiet. Its a very easy three or four block walk to downtown where the great shops, bars, and restaurants are. Its about a fifteen minute stroll to the boardwalk. Breakfast and coffee are served in a neat, modern dining room/lounge area. The place is immaculate. There is a hot tub and small dipping pool on the deck. The rooms are decorated in a fresh, hip and beachy style. They are spacious and spotless. Our room had two double beds, and a very efficient kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and supplies. Fluffy robes hanging in the closet. Upscale toiletries. So you would think the beds would just be super luxurious and comfy, yes? No! The worst, most uncomfortable mattress I have ever found in a hotel at any price point. If we hadn't been checking in so late, I would have asked the management if the beds in any of the other rooms were different, and if so, could we switch? Pretty please? Luckily we were only there for one night. As lovely as the rooms are, and as inviting as all the amenities are, its just such a shame that the beds were so bad. In the end, isn't a stay in a hotel all about getting a good night's sleep?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I took a mid-week trip to Rehoboth and finally stayed at the Canalside (i'd had my eye on it for years) mainly because they have great winter rates. I knew this place would be cute based on what i saw online, but when i opened that door to my room, my jaw literally dropped to the floor! Adorable!! Clean! fresh! I almost didn't want to leave!! Lobby area is equally cute as is the commune/breakfast room. The owners have done a great job with this place.

Highly recommend and is pet friendly (tho i did not take my dog this time).

Location is ok, within the town limits. If your staying in the off-season, no real issue since parking is free.

Will definitely be staying here again in the future!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You know how some people have a "Happy Place" well this is mine. We have stayed there a number of times over the past few years and always feel comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable, and recent bathroom upgrades are nice. We do not go during the season, usually spring and fall and find it quiet and relaxing. If you want a really nice place to stay in the area def. recommend. Downstairs is a lounge, computer, and tv's to watch video's on. Just got home from there and am already planning when I can go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The only reason I will give this Inn 2 stars is because the room was clean and nicely decorated, but that really is the only positive I can pull from our experience there. Everything else was below our expectations by a long shot. The front desk staff was short and unwelcoming, and the outside area pier to go to the canal had broken steps and was unkempt. The canal view is a joke...one big ditch with a creek, a dirty gazebo filled with leaves etc.

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for a night with our pug. To advertise this place as being "pet Friendly" is quite confusing to us, because it certainly was not.
The trouble started once we crated our dog and walked to our car. We were driving out to Milton for the day, and while inputting information on our GPS, my boyfriend was called within 5 minutes and told that our dog has been barking intermittently and we must come back now to take care of it. We were pretty taken back because at home, our pug only barks a little bit when we first leave and other than that he sleeps! Plus, it was just 3 in the afternoon.. in January, and we weren't quite sure how many people would even be in the surrounding rooms to even hear him. Regardless, we pulled back in, and stood outside of our room to hear just how crazy our dog was acting, and didn't hear anything...so at that point he had obviously calmed down like he does when hes at home. We were so afraid that the staff would call us again and interrupt our day plans again that we decided the best option was to take our dog with us and keep him in our SUV. This ruined our dinner plans too because we felt bad for keeping our boy in the car the whole time we were gone!!! We wouldn't have brought him with us, and paid for him to be with us if we were going to be that inconvenienced by keeping him in our car the entire time!!! The next morning upon checking out we advised the front desk of how dissatisfied we were with the intolerance of us having a dog and the whole time we felt like we were being a burden. That is NO WAY to feel when you are a guest. The response was that "this wasn't a kennel, and they called us so soon and before anyone even complained, just to be proactive".... We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times, and have enjoyed our stay each time. Well decorated rooms. Innkeepers are efficient and friendly. One of the few pet friendly places to stay. Continental breakfast included. We tend to visit off season when the beaches are less crowded. About 5 blocks from the beach. Perfect location along the canal. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have a balcony with outside seating. King rooms are larger, so if you need space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We attended the Jazz Festival last week and got half lucky to book two nights at the Canaside Inn,the unlucky part was that they were booked up for the other two nights and had to move to a hotel which was nice but different.
We had never been to Rehoboth before,we drove through Cape May and took the ferry over,very enjoyable.
Jazz Festival great.... Canalside Inn was great.
Hope to do a week next year at Canalside Inn for the festival. Love to be there in the summer.
I was going to write a detailed review but Scott L and Bob L expressed what I'd say so well,read there review please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visited Rehoboth, Delaware for the 1st time to attend the annual jazz festival....the concerts were fantastic. It was to our good fortune that we selected Canalside Inn for this brief visit. This beautiful inn is situated toward the end of a tree lined block, alongside the canal which creates a serenely quiet environment in which to relax. We, together with our dog, were warmly greeted upon our arrival by the proprietors who were congenial and helpful throughout our stay. Amongst the amenities at this establishment is an on site pool and upscale guest lounge. The entire inn is kept immaculately clean and the room was spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable. Also, the town of Rehoboth was great...friendly, quaint and streets lined with restaurants/bars/pubs, art galleries and boutiques. We eagerly await our return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn

Address: 34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canalside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often referred to as The Nation’s Summer Capital, the beautiful Rehoboth Beach offers friendly hospitality partnered with a relaxed pace. When you’re looking for a place to stay in Rehoboth there is no better place than at Canalside Inn. Canalside Inn offers a contemporary boutique style inn exclusively for adults. Canalside Inn offers our guests a casual and contemporary boutique-style inn, which stands out as a cut above the ordinary. Sophistication, style, and affordability are how our guests often describe our inn. Conveniently nestled across from the picturesque Lewes-Rehoboth Canal, Canalside Inn is just a short walk from the center of town, the boardwalk, or the beach. The best way to start your day is with our complimentary Continental Breakfast featuring juice, freshly brewed coffee, tea, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a tempting assortment of muffins served daily in our downstairs living room. Feel free to enjoy your breakfast at our community dining table, poolside, on the front porch, or the privacy of your room. It is our goal at Canalside Inn is to provide a relaxed atmosphere and causal environment for every one of our guests and we are more than happy to aid you in any way during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canalside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.