We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Rehoboth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canalside Inn Rehoboth to your Saves list
Canalside Inn Rehoboth
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I took a mid-week trip to Rehoboth and finally stayed at the Canalside (i'd had my eye on it for years) mainly because they have great winter rates. I knew this place would be cute based on what i saw online, but when i opened that door to my room, my jaw literally dropped to the floor! Adorable!! Clean! fresh! I almost didn't want to leave!! Lobby area is equally cute as is the commune/breakfast room. The owners have done a great job with this place.

Highly recommend and is pet friendly (tho i did not take my dog this time).

Location is ok, within the town limits. If your staying in the off-season, no real issue since parking is free.

Will definitely be staying here again in the future!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    35
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You know how some people have a "Happy Place" well this is mine. We have stayed there a number of times over the past few years and always feel comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable, and recent bathroom upgrades are nice. We do not go during the season, usually spring and fall and find it quiet and relaxing. If you want a really nice place to stay in the area def. recommend. Downstairs is a lounge, computer, and tv's to watch video's on. Just got home from there and am already planning when I can go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The only reason I will give this Inn 2 stars is because the room was clean and nicely decorated, but that really is the only positive I can pull from our experience there. Everything else was below our expectations by a long shot. The front desk staff was short and unwelcoming, and the outside area pier to go to the canal had broken steps and was unkempt. The canal view is a joke...one big ditch with a creek, a dirty gazebo filled with leaves etc.

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for a night with our pug. To advertise this place as being "pet Friendly" is quite confusing to us, because it certainly was not.
The trouble started once we crated our dog and walked to our car. We were driving out to Milton for the day, and while inputting information on our GPS, my boyfriend was called within 5 minutes and told that our dog has been barking intermittently and we must come back now to take care of it. We were pretty taken back because at home, our pug only barks a little bit when we first leave and other than that he sleeps! Plus, it was just 3 in the afternoon.. in January, and we weren't quite sure how many people would even be in the surrounding rooms to even hear him. Regardless, we pulled back in, and stood outside of our room to hear just how crazy our dog was acting, and didn't hear anything...so at that point he had obviously calmed down like he does when hes at home. We were so afraid that the staff would call us again and interrupt our day plans again that we decided the best option was to take our dog with us and keep him in our SUV. This ruined our dinner plans too because we felt bad for keeping our boy in the car the whole time we were gone!!! We wouldn't have brought him with us, and paid for him to be with us if we were going to be that inconvenienced by keeping him in our car the entire time!!! The next morning upon checking out we advised the front desk of how dissatisfied we were with the intolerance of us having a dog and the whole time we felt like we were being a burden. That is NO WAY to feel when you are a guest. The response was that "this wasn't a kennel, and they called us so soon and before anyone even complained, just to be proactive".... We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times, and have enjoyed our stay each time. Well decorated rooms. Innkeepers are efficient and friendly. One of the few pet friendly places to stay. Continental breakfast included. We tend to visit off season when the beaches are less crowded. About 5 blocks from the beach. Perfect location along the canal. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have a balcony with outside seating. King rooms are larger, so if you need space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We attended the Jazz Festival last week and got half lucky to book two nights at the Canaside Inn,the unlucky part was that they were booked up for the other two nights and had to move to a hotel which was nice but different.
We had never been to Rehoboth before,we drove through Cape May and took the ferry over,very enjoyable.
Jazz Festival great.... Canalside Inn was great.
Hope to do a week next year at Canalside Inn for the festival. Love to be there in the summer.
I was going to write a detailed review but Scott L and Bob L expressed what I'd say so well,read there review please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visited Rehoboth, Delaware for the 1st time to attend the annual jazz festival....the concerts were fantastic. It was to our good fortune that we selected Canalside Inn for this brief visit. This beautiful inn is situated toward the end of a tree lined block, alongside the canal which creates a serenely quiet environment in which to relax. We, together with our dog, were warmly greeted upon our arrival by the proprietors who were congenial and helpful throughout our stay. Amongst the amenities at this establishment is an on site pool and upscale guest lounge. The entire inn is kept immaculately clean and the room was spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable. Also, the town of Rehoboth was great...friendly, quaint and streets lined with restaurants/bars/pubs, art galleries and boutiques. We eagerly await our return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspers, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When the door opened to our room, our mouths fell open. It was absolutely wonderful. The colors, contemporary decor, simplicity and comfort made us feel at home from the second we stepped in. The room was very clean. The colors were lime and ocean blue. Very relaxing. The room was decorated in a tasteful and creative way that we just loved. With amenities like hot tub, bikes and breakfast you cannot go wrong. The breakfast was more than just your average continental- and it was served in a really nice area that is adjacent to a spacious living room that had everything you could want for a relaxing evening. There was an extensive video library, games and magazines. The prices are reasonable- especially in off season. Don't miss this hidden gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalside Inn Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Address: Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canalside Inn Rehoboth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canalside Inn Rehoboth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalside Inn Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.