We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Save Saved
You added Canalside Inn Rehoboth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canalside Inn Rehoboth
Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Aspers, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You'll be pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When the door opened to our room, our mouths fell open. It was absolutely wonderful. The colors, contemporary decor, simplicity and comfort made us feel at home from the second we stepped in. The room was very clean. The colors were lime and ocean blue. Very relaxing. The room was decorated in a tasteful and creative way that we just loved. With amenities like hot tub, bikes and breakfast you cannot go wrong. The breakfast was more than just your average continental- and it was served in a really nice area that is adjacent to a spacious living room that had everything you could want for a relaxing evening. There was an extensive video library, games and magazines. The prices are reasonable- especially in off season. Don't miss this hidden gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, DE
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Once of the most delightful inns in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware is Canalside Inn. This was our second stay and was even more delightful than the first time. Since it is now off season and we chose to stay mid-week, the prices were even lower and we chose a larger room. There are large porch areas on both levels. The first floor porch has charming sitting areas in the front. In the back of the inn is a fenced in area that has a small pool and sitting areas.

The beach décor was absolutely beyond charming and the room was so large and inviting. As we walked into the wonderful, naturally lighted room, we entered a spacious foyer with refrigerator and microwave, and free standing frosted glass closets on either side. The bathroom was huge and decorated with the beach color scheme. Our room was located on the first floor and we had direct access to the front porch. The cheerful, white furniture and the sea glass green and blue walls and accessories only enhanced the beach feel. The sleeping area included a wonderful day bed.

The breakfast area (breakfast is included) is located on the lower level. This area includes a large table for folks to eat together, or you can sit in one of the other two areas with couches (one area also has a TV). Again, everything is clean and welcoming. The breakfast choices are excellent and include juice, fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, etc.

What makes the entire beach experience complete is the location of the inn, which is on the canal. It is extremely peaceful, surrounded by trees in a quiet neighborhood. However, there is no need to drive to anything, as one only has to walk a short distance to Rehoboth Avenue, which is the main street, along with many side streets and alleys that has endless varieties of restaurants, shops and grocery stores, along with a library, post office, museum, convention center, and, of course, the boardwalk and the beach.

Room Tip: Room 2 first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter & I spent 2 nights at the Canalside Inn as a nice fall girls weekend getaway. We found the double queen room to be very well decorated with bright colors and updated style. The size of the room was ample with a private bath. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The location was convenient and just a short walking distance to the town center, boardwalk & beach. The community room in the lower level of the inn was cozy and well-appointed with a nice continental breakfast and coffee. Free wi-fi and a small pool/hot tub area make this place a full package for anyone looking for a tucked-away inn that is close to everything in Rehoboth. We will be return to this one the next time we head to the beach. The only negative was that the beds in our room were very hard & uncomfortable. Would recommend making a change so the beds fit the cozy feel to the inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

When my wife and I were looking for places to stay in Rehoboth for a short getaway (three days), I saw pics and reviews here on tripadvisor, and was immediately intrigued. Could the reviews be that true? Was this the stylish, quiet, yet fantastically relaxing Inn so many others had talked about?

Yes; that and more. From the moment we arrived, we noticed that the other vehicles parked in the roomy parking lot included the owners'--and even their vehicle was sparkling. Walking around the perimeter, and inside, we actually commented on how "tidy" everything looked. No cigarette butts carelessly tossed in the parking lot, no little bits and pieces of land-ho flotsam and jetsam sneaking into the plants or grass. Our impression was of a place where the owners do a "periodic walkaround" picking up any bits of litter they might find, so that guests do not.


The owners greeted us and briefly chatted with us, in a polite, no-nonsense, business-like manner. If you're looking for a place where the owners act like overly-friendly smile machines (think Jennifer Aniston's "37 pieces of flair"-covered Joanna in "Office Space") go elsewhere. The owners are extremely accommodating at every turn, and happily provided us with extra amenities we'd forgotten, and kept the breakfast each morning fully stocked with a variety of healthy and delicious foods, cleaned the small, but intimate [and extremely clean] pool--without feeling the need to fill in the empty spaces with inane jibber jabber.

If you want someone to chat with while you take your bags to your room, or yammer away with small talk while you relax by the pool, hire a teenager. If you want efficient, quick, and very effective service by owner-operators who treat you like a fellow professional, go here.

Now, on to the rooms. We stayed in one of the rooms on the web site with the blue wall. When we entered, we immediately noticed the small (but perfect for a romantic getaway's foodstuffs) area where we could use their appliances, and popped a few bottles of Peace Valley Winery wine into the fridge to chill them down. Everything worked perfectly, and the bar area was extremely clean, inside the cabinets and out. You may notice that's a major theme: the remarkable cleanliness of the room, the bathroom, and the entire establishment. In fact, my wife and I felt like the room hadn't just been cleaned that day, we felt like we were the first people to step foot in the room after it had just been remodeled--THAT is how fastidiously neat and organized they keep the place.

The bathroom, painted in a brilliant yellow, came with some very smooth, very sweet-smelling shampoos and soaps my wife loved and which we both were more than happy to use. She always brings her own shampoo (Garnier Fructis), soap, and conditioner, but here she was more than happy to use what was presented for us to use, and she reported that they didn't dry out her skin or make her hair frizzy.

The shower's water pressure was perfect, and didn't punish you with a massive spray nor trickle out pathetically. The shower head was sparkling, and appeared to be wiped down itself after guests left. Usually you see some sort of "crud" (lime scale, calcium, rust) around the jet areas of a shower head, but this one had none I could see.

Because we're both totally OCD when it comes to cleanliness, we did a thorough check of the toilet, pedestal sink, and environs. This revealed nothing--no dust, nothing left behind from some other person's body (hair of any shape or size), no soap scum, no residue under the toilet seat, nothing--not even water spots on the mirror. The bathroom was light and airy feeling, despite being on the the slightly smaller side; it's not a Vegas bathroom at the Signature, but a small area where you feel pampered after taking a long, soothing shower.

The bed was very comfortable, the AC didn't make any undue noise (that I can remember, at least), and the decorations were contemporary/modern with a classic appeal to them.

As far as the walk to the beach, it's several blocks (which was "excellent" for us, but probably only "very good" for some others). We're both into physical fitness, so the walk was an added blessing. We enjoyed being able to walk past the many wonderful houses along the way to the beach (there's some great architecture to admire), to walk to the many restaurants, and then, after plying ourselves with food and drink, being able to "walk it off" on the way "home" to the Canalside. Once there, we went to the porch, hung out drinking our wine, and spent the rest of the nights talking and listening to....nothing. No crowds, no noise, no thumpa-thumpa-thump of car stereos cruising past, just the sound of the wind and tree leaves swaying in the ocean breeze.

All in all, it was the perfect place for two people to enjoy a romantic getaway, recover from the "daily grind", relax, and just use as a wonderful "home base" to return to after a day at the beach and a night out.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell by looking into a few rooms that were being cleaned, ANY room is a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

As others have said the Inn is tucked a block off of the main street into Rehobeth and is clean, bright, and comfortable. There is a small pool and hot tub out back. There are a lot of trees around the property and if you are just sitting on one of the porches you would never know you are only several blocks from the beach. It is very relaxing. Great place to relax after the day and have a glass of wine outside. This was my first time to the Inn and to Rehobeth and I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I chose the Canalside Inn for our first weekend stay in Rehoboth Beach. Although a short distance from the town center and boardwalk the location and quite setting was perfect. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the service was excellent. A very nice location for couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

The Inn is on a quiet street along the canal and is smaller, less than 20 rooms. The decor is very modern and the room was really spacious. There are French doors that lead to a shared balcony, modern lighting in the room, and the bathroom has a rain shower. There is daily continental breakfast which consisted of juice, bagels, pastries, cereal, and yogurts. A small pool and hot tub sit on the back deck which is private, relaxing, and cozy! The Inn is about a 5 minute walk to Dogfish Head and the other restaurants/bars on the main street are walking distance.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalside Inn Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn Rehoboth

Address: Canal and Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canalside Inn Rehoboth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalside Inn Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.