We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach treasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Summer Place Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
brookville, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beach treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This "summer place" is a block away from the beach, the boardwalk and all the shops. While the room was small, it had everything that was essential and it was very clean. I stayed there in July while I was visiting my daughter, who is a RBP lifeguard, and it was great to be so close to everything. A nice bonus was the parking pass that was available which made life easier. And the owner is a wealth of information about the area! I would stay there again...and plan to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    20
    26
    71
See reviews for
34
85
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Summer Place is in a perfect location; a block from the Rehoboth ave and a block from the beach it couldn't be any more perfect! Yes it's small but whos gonna be inside anyway when you're a block from the beach! Even the apartments are simple. And it's all a great price!! Whenever I go to Rehoboth Summer Place I go!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here over July 4th weekend 2013 (just myself) and was given a room at the end of the hall by the carport. The room above it had just had a leaking tub and the water went on my bed so I had to have that addressed, the floor was grimy, then it was the air conditioner the broke, and worst of all, the room smelled of mold! Upon my return home, I actually had to go to the Doctor for an upper and lower respiratory infection! The "cheap" price cost me plenty! This place is a disgrace to Rehoboth Beach. With all the nice places there, this place should be tore down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Clean
Small bed and bathroom I do mean SMALL
Bring LOTS of quarters you will PAY for parking FROM 7am to 12 midnight
If you are a large person the shower will NOT BE A COMFORTABLE
Not a lot of space to move around in if you plan to spend anytime in room
Lighting well to cut off light you unplugs it or cut off TV and anything else in that outlet

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I read a few reviews on this hotel before booking and they weren't great so our expectations were pretty low from the get-go. The room and bathroom in the room we were given were clean and the bed - although way too big for the poorly laid out room - was actually very comfortable.

If you just need a place to shower and crash for a night or two and don't have any particular need to hang out in your hotel then this place is fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are reading these reviews its because you want to know more about this hotel. Don't do what I did and think "it can't be THAT bad"...it is!!! Listen to the reviews...Don't stay here - it is truly awful.
The bed coverlet was filthy, the air conditioner noisy and ineffectual, the towels were threadbare, the bathroom hasn't been updated since the early 70's, the hallways smelt like disinfectant, the walls are paper thin, the lock on the door was loose. I felt like I didn't want to touch anything let alone sleep here. This hotel did not have 1 redeeming feature aside from the location.
We paid $225 a night and I have never felt more ripped off in my life.
Sleeping under a bridge would be more attractive than another night in this hotel. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I should have known the cheapest place in town would be a dump and it is. For $185 a night and up you get a room with barely enough room to get into, let alone any place to sit besides the bed. The phone sits on the AC, the ceiling is failing down, the toilet is loose, the dresser has one of the drawers screwed in so it won't fall out. I don't know how this place can stay in business or pass inspection but I suppose in peak summer season, there's not much available close to the beach. As noted by other reviewers, the towels are tiny and of course no beach towels. You get a parking pass but end up having to park far away unless you pay for the metered parking. I decided to pass on the 10% discount for a positive review on tripadvisor (as advertised in the lobby).

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have no other choice and are willing to pay top dollar for not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Address: 30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Summer Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Summer Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.