We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not give out your credit card information.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Summer Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
york
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not give out your credit card information.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this hotel on 06/25/2013. I also called the same day and cancelled. They still took my money off my credit card. I called the hotel for a refund they hung up 3 times saying they did not know anything about it. This place is very shady so be careful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    20
    26
    69
See reviews for
33
85
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Despite the bad reviews, because of the price we decided to try this place out . I wish I would have listened. We arrived and the man at front desk is very rude. When booking the room we were told there were parking arrangements. What this means is you give him $40 for a parking pass to park on the street 3 blocks from the hotel . We were told we couldn't check in early because people were still in our room , no problem we understand. We came back at 3 to check in. We got into our room and practically fell on to the bed. It is the smallest room I've ever seen . We had to walk sideways to get around it and it was pushed against the wall. The smell of mold was overwhelming. We looked up and there was mold everywhere!! Inside of all the picture frames, just everywhere. My boyfriend went out front to tell the clerk . He said he would have someone clean it, it's been empty for two weeks! Funny since he told us we can't check in early since there were people in the room? No refunds !! Signs posted everywhere so we got another room that for sure was better no mold but was still disgusting! We drove to Walmart to buy our own towels and bedding . Yes the hotel is close to the beach .... But it is not worth it. This place is more like a hostel not a hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The room smelled terrible. The towels were dirty. My friends didn't have working lights. Our room had the door kicked in. The door frame was pieced back together. Awful experience. Would not give a refund. Stay away!

Room Tip: Stay away do yourself a favor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights in the Summer, and it was the worst place I've ever stayed in. I'm not really demanding but this place was really dirty and smelly, it really disgusted me. The bed sheets looked so disgusting that my boyfriend and I went to Walmart to buy clean sheets (we tried to get a room somewhere else but most places we looked were sold out). Besides the dirty feeling of the room, the place smelled smoke everywhere. There was an insect in the tub and other behind the headboard of the bed. And please, if you still plan to stay there take your own towels!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is relatively clean, NOT a lot of amenties, but SO close to the beach that you do not care. A room for 2 people had a full bed, fridge, microwave, TV & a dresser,. & not much else but the bathroom & shower, but when you are 2 blocks from the beach & the price is right--who cares?

It would have been nice if the owner/manager were a little nicer, but if your goal is to get up early, spend the day on the beach & the boardwalk, eat at good restaurants & have somewhere to store & eat your doggie bag, this is perfectly acceptable & super cheap. I'm going to take my husband there once & see if he agrees, but for myself, it was perfect for an impromptu getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

......and the ocean just a block away! I am an 82 year old grandma, handicapped, who needed some sun and sea-breeze. Summer Place was perfect for me! I had only two days to spend there and enjoyed every minute: Two blocks to sparkly main-street Rehoboth Beach! One block to the board-walk! After 5 days back home - my days are still illuminated by the memory-images of the blue water and the seagulls. Accessible! Affordable!
The place is old-timey, funky, its front adorned with a wall of sunflowers - visible from afar
so you don't get lost hobbling back.... The host, Mr. Dan (a champion biker with a wall-full of
trophies) is a modest, quiet, very helpful individual. To my plea for another refrigerator - he came instantly and said, with a gentle smile, "You had it turned off"!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had read some not-so-positive reviews but decided to take a chance due to the incredible location in the beach block in close-in Rehoboth. I was in a third floor walk up but that was good for me! It forces you to remember everything so you don't have to go up 3 flights to retrieve!
The room was compact and clean. Doors are a bit thin. The surprises were a little refrigerator and microwave and a wonderful flat screen tv with lots of channels I don't get at home. I enjoyed the second floor porch. It was really a nice experience. Free Parking was a bit of a challenge! There are not many unmetered spaces but you can pay a little extra to park on the premises. I would have preferred a fan in the room so I could leave window open but ac worked great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Address: 30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Place Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Summer Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Summer Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.