We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place in the heart of Rehoboth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Place Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Place Hotel
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A cozy place in the heart of Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Summer Place several times over the years and love it. It's great for the budget and a nice place to stay in the heart of Rehoboth. We started staying there because we were younger and just getting started, so saving money was key... now we're in a very different place in life and able to pay a lot more but find that the Summer Place holds a special place in our hearts. Dan has always been great and has a hidden gem. If you're looking for a great budget hotel in the center of Rehoboth; walking distance from the boardwalk, restaurants, the beach... Everything!! Give Dan a call or shoot him an email and reserve something now!

Room Tip: Get a hold of Dan and he'll set you up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thankyou very much for the kind review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    21
    26
    77
See reviews for
35
90
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The summer place hotel gives me what I want.! It is one block from the beach. It is in the center of town, and has a price I can afford. I have been going to the summer place for two seasons. The sheets are clean and the beds are confortable.....I would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for the nice write up. Weve updated all the rooms this year with flatscreen tvs new refrigerators, linens , microwaves etc. Also wifi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

To all the complainers, where else can you get a room close to everything with such reasonable rates? You want a bigger room, go pay for one! Innkeeper was very nice to us upon check-in. Room was small,yes, but after a day of shopping and dogfish perfect place to sleep! I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Bottom line great rates all year and I can walk everywhere! No complaints here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for the nice review. I hope to see you this summer or in the off season. We have only raised the rates 10 dollars in 12 years despite rising energy costs. This could be why our occupancy is so high
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed at the summer place in rehoboth beach, delaware. I enjoyed my stay there. The rooms were very clean and cheery. The location is great, very short walking distance to the beach. The staff and manager was very polite and attentive and i needed for nothing during my stay. Thank you Summer Place Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Although the room was less than clean, terribly laid out and very cramped, It served its purpose in the least expensive way possible. We were 1 block from the beach and just a few blocks to the happening part of the Boardwalk. Also there were lots of restaurants in close proximity which were not on the boardwalk. The neighborhood was beautiful and quiet. The Staff was rarely seen if ever and it took a while to find someone to check us out. Seeing as how the point of a beach vacation for me is not to sit in the hotel room this worked out nicely. Be warned the walls are VERY thin. So in short if you aren't real picky no worries its cheap and close to the reason we stayed there THE BEACH.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
I guess this would be defined as a backhanded comment. I am not sure what you found dirty but sorry. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I had stayed here a few times and never had a problem. The rooms have been recently updated, new furniture, bedspreads etc. The room was clean and Dan was wonderful about meeting any needs we had during our stay. We were only scheduled to stay one night but had so much fun we stayed two. Wonderful location, great price, within walking distances to shops, bars and restaraunts.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thankyou for the nice review. We hope to see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is the first time I've ever written a review. I'm a pretty laid-back person, but after my terrible experience with Summer Place, I had to write a review. First, the service is terrible. Making a reservation was so difficult-- I tried the online form, never got any confirm

The room was NASTY. I've travelled a lot, and have stayed in some pretty questionable place in rural India, Ecuador, etc. But this was just nasty.

First, the smell-- a combination of must, mold, and old cigarette smoke. The bedside table had a layer of dust so thick you could write your name in it. And then there were some sort of animal droppings (cockroach, I think, from my online searches) about a foot from the bed. GROSS.

We asked for a different room-- the 2nd room was slightly better, in that there were no visible animal droppings, but when I turned back the comforter, I saw multiple hairs on the pillow. That's nasty. That means the sheets haven't been changed since the last person stayed there. For $75 a night, I at least expect clean sheets.

And last, the service is awful. Even making the reservation was a pain-- the online form didn't work, and I had to call and speak to the guy at the hotel twice to make a reservation.

When we left the hotel and mentioned that the sheets hadn't been changed since there were HAIRS on the PILLOW, he responded "well, you really got to pick apart a room to find that." Not really. Just turn back the comforter. It's pretty hard to miss 4-5 long, dark hairs. His overall demeanor was uncaring and rude.

Go to the Oceanus Motel. It's $15 more and you get clean sheets and good service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Summer Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
The summer place hotel is a very small modestly furnished guesthouse with VERY reasonable rates one block to the beach. Service is minimal but we try to accomate guests whenever possible but we cant please everyone. All rooms this weekend were booked and were going for 75 dollars, almost 25% of what they charge next door. All laundry comes from a service in packages pressed. Were sorry he found a hair on the sheet and was refunded his money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#22 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Address: 30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable guest house style hotel room-located on the Ocean Block of Rehoboth Beach -offers 23 rooms- relatively new- clean- private bath- cable television- telephone- microwave- air conditioning- heat- and refrigerator- Rooms accomodate two or three- with either one king bed- one double bed- two twins or double plus a twin bed- Cots available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Summer Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.