We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espuma

Espuma
28 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2926
302-227-4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Espuma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st street
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with a wonderful dinner at Espuma. The restaurant is small, attractive and comfortable. We started with a very good, dry martini and a "Blood Orange" cocktail, which was beautiful and packed a punch. The server explained the menu well, and there were interesting choices. Each course, including a complimentary mini-appetizer, was beautifully presented and delicious, including the sourdough bread with 3 little spreads. Neither of us could finish our paella, and dessert was out of the question. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We go to Rehoboth every summer for family time and have tried many of the restaurants there but had never tried Espuma. The amazing thing is that this restaurant is only about 100 feet from the house in which we usually stay as guests and we had passed it by many time on the way to other restaurants.

After reviewing the menu we decided to give it a try just for something new. What a surprise. The menu is limited but covers all the bases including wonderful vegetarian selections. The meal was truly outstanding with every part of the meal prepared to perfection. There were three couples in our party and we all tried something different from the menu. Everyone claimed they had made the best choice. The meal was creative, both in its presentation and in the complexity of flavors. Nothing against Rehoboth, but it's hard to believe that this chef isn't in Boston, New York or Washington DC.

The meal was on the higher end of the budget but great value for dollar for those wanting a special evening in Rehoboth. The wine list is limited but includes some very nice wines, both red and white. The setting is intimate, the service was warm, friendly and very efficient when combined with great food resulted in a very pleasant end to a special family week.

Visit before someone steals this chef to a larger market.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the food, the staff, and the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

From our "lost" phone call when the hostess came out to the street to wave us into the restaurant, to the waiter's making sure we had our doggie bag when we left, we had a truly enjoyable experience. We started with cocktails, and were really impressed with their flavor and unusual combinations (limoncello & basil, and peach & jalapeno). The appetizers and mains also "wowed" especially the stuffed pepper and the pork. (Some misses -- the not tender beets, and rice in the paella really didn't seem to work.) But overall, very helpful and attentive staff, and great thought and ingredients made the food quite delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great creativity in Spanish fusion cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well presented environment, with not over the top servers pretending something that they are not. Great quality food that required a true thought process and effort. Creativity in designing dishes, comparable to most sophisticated establishments. The fact that it is located at the beach, enables one to bring well behaved teenagers, but I would not bring young children. Thank you for another great meal at Espuma!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special B/Day treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife picked this restaurant based on her unique taste- She's a vegan and I love meat. Both of us were totally pleased with our experience.

To begin the restaurant is located at 28 Wilmington Ave- well not really! It's actually around the corner - visible from Wilmington Ave and the hostess was kind enough or familar enough with this issue to direct right to the front door.

The restaurant has soft red hue lighting with comfortably close wood furniture in the main room.

Live early Sinatra tunes drifted out of the main dining and were well received by all ages. The performer went table to table thanking the crowd.

We sat in a four person booth right inside the front door across from a very lively bar crowd - seem to be 75% locals or repeat customers. The bartender was friendly and very engaging. The drinks were good. I ordered a White Russian - heavy on the Kahlua. After a sip and a slight frown our wonderful server Florina added a bit more Kalhlua explaining the "color" didn't look right to her. I tasted much better!

The restaurant staff was extremely attentive-especially Florina - she was top - notch! She constantly checked on us and explained any possible delays in our food arrival. I felt at home in her care- which is the highest compliment I can give and it was reflected in her tip.

FOOD: my wife orderd the Vegetarian extravaganza- a delicious seven taste sampling. I was very suprised- she loved it! Happy wife- happy life. I ordered the paella. I was a rich tastefull mix - one of the best in the region.

It was a special night - my birthday and I was very happy with this dining experience. Thank you Florina!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espuma also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Espuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.