We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Espuma

Espuma
28 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2926
302-227-4199
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st street
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Paella night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited on Christmas Eve, when Espuma was one of the few restaurants in town that was open for dinner. There was a prix fixe special featuring the restaurant's paella. I had a prosciutto and chees "cannoli" as my appetizer and my husband had the mushroom soup, both of which were excellent. I had the vegetarian paella and my husband had the seafood version. Both arrived at the table steaming, in small metal skillets with red handles. The portions were huge, and we ended up taking our leftovers back to our hotel room so that we could leave room for the desserts that were part of the prix fixe special. I had the molten chocolate cake that was so good I wanted to lick the plate, and my husband had the apple tart. I second the previous poster who said that the drinks are excellent -- I had one that featured prosecco and grapefruit juice that was heavenly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    63
    16
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced mediocre. The paella was salty, had a few medium shrimp and a little chicken, if it was chicken. Ravioli had way too much bacon, and halibut not distinctive. No return for me.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Was expecting much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Went on a Friday night and restaurant was only 1/3 full. Bar was packed, so we waited longer than we shoukd have for drinks. When you first enter the restaurant the room on the right was a mess with drapes barely covering it.
For inner, i had the Paella which was small, with very little seafood and rice overcooked - for $30! Tuna tartare was average. The highlight of the meal was dessert. Pumpkin ice cream.
Will not return, as there are so many other good restaurants to choose from in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great drinks in this hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a treat to find this gem of a restaurant, slightly hidden just a block of busy Rehoboth Ave. The service was impeccable and helpful in selecting items to explore. While the food was good, varied, a eclectic, the true gem of this place is its concoctions of fruit and infused martinis... Which we had to restrain ourselves from sampling the extensive list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Meal From Guest Chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Espuma. The night we were there, they offered a dinner prepared by a guest chef. So while I cannot comment on the regular menu (which was offered that night), I can say that that food we had was excellent, and a real bargain at $45 for a 3-course menu. There was a regrettable slip up when our dessert was apparently forgotten (for 30+ minutes), which our server did not handle particularly well. But other staff members were gracious and helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espuma also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Espuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.