We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Lousy Seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Obie's By The Sea

Obie's By The Sea
Boardwalk & Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-6261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Baltimore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lousy Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We wanted just a quick bite to eat so we went to Obies. Good beer, good steamed shrimp and good chicken fingers. But the tables were so close to each other we were butt-snuggly with the other patrons. Take out a table and let your customers be more comfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good pub grub by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I liked Obie's, which had better-than-average pub grub and an unbeatable location on the boardwalk. Yes, the service was a bit spotty and the waiter informed my wife that they had run out of shrimp only when he was delivering everyone else's order, but the crab cake she got instead was outstanding and my BBQ chicken was excellent. So we would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Obie's is what seems to be standard for boardwalk beach bar locations - overpriced tolerable pub food,nasty drinking water and ice, okay service, and a great view. We went for the view and were not disappointed, but can't rate higher because of the quality of the food and the mediocre wait staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take out took 20 minutes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The cook was surly, and the hamburger came out late and only fair. The restaurant may be better but ill never grab a bugler from the take out window again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best place in the Boardwalk, excelent bar, great food, amazing service, great athmosphere.
Have to go

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obie's By The Sea also viewed

 

Been to Obie's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obie's By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.