We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Obie's By The Sea

Obie's By The Sea
Boardwalk & Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-6261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bernville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Obie's use to be one of my favorite places to go - I've been going there for over 20 years. It sits right on the boardwalk at Olive Ave. and you can sit at their outside tables right on the boardwalk to eat. Full bar and always has great music playing - perfect beach ambience. The food and wait service has taken a nosedive, however. I always order their famous Hobo burger (hamburger with cheddar cheese and mango chutney). This time I ordered a Hobo burger and received a regular hamburger. After finally being able to flag my waiter back down, he took the burger back to the kitchen to have the cheese and chutney added. The bun was all greasy, the burger was completely overcooked and by then the fries were cold. My daughter ordered a salad to go with her chicken tenders - she received fries and no salad. Obviously they just don't care anymore. Won't go back again. I can make a much better Hobo burger at home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drink there, eat someplace else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Outdoor bar on boardwalk was perfect for a cool drink. However dining experience was poor with disappointing food, mixed up orders, and slow service. We'll be back for drinks, but not for a meal with so many other options out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

They have something for everyone here and it is a true bar by the beach atmosphere full of music and fun. My 81 year old father said he had the best hot dog of his life there and my husband gorged himself on shrimp and my daughter sucked down calamari. I had their ribs and highly recommend them. Nuff said!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great spot to be at the beach!!!! Have been going here for over 25 years and am always looking forward to going back!!!! See you there!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Typical Beach Bar Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is not fine dining, this is a bar that serves food on the beach/boardwalk. Limited menu items but with great beer and drinks and awesome views. We ate here twice last week... crabcakes, steamed clams, steamed shrimp and fried shrimp we can recommend...would not recommend the chicken salad though (lots of it, just no taste). We had great service...in fact our server from our 1st visit recognized us when we returned and came running over to take care of us again.... it appeared that it was mainly American college kids that were working the place when we were there. Our service was really good. We would go back

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obie's By The Sea also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Obie's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obie's By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.