We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite Local Place for Fresh Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant

La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant
4578 Hwy One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9790
(302) 644-3994
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 233 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Favorite Local Place for Fresh Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although a chain, you'd never know that this fun Mexican restaurant was one. The food is always freshly made to order, and it is well-made, served hot, and there are a large number of choices for any taste. I like the pork carnitas and the enchilada combos, but there are so many different choices, you may need some time to decide. There is a nice assortment of beers and you can also get sangria. Kids should like the festive decorations. Service is always good, and I dare you not to eat the entire basket of freshly made chips (with a spicy, hearty salsa) that is served when you arrive at your table. Best of all, two of you can eat very well for about $30.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“For YOU - no room at the inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friday night 6 p.m. the place is half full and it's November. We enter and are told there is one tiny table at the bar (beside the door) or else we have to wait.

WAIT? WHY? There are empty tables everywhere - we are told those are large tables for parties of 6-8 people.

No flexibility - so we walked across the parking lot and gave our money to a restaurant who appreciated our business.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Are You Kidding?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't believe the taste and price point at this place, A chain..I never eat at chains but this, based on one chance visit, is an amazingly down home good tasting place. Crowded on a cold March day, near a mall. We had numerous tacos, Speedy G plate drinks etc and the bill was like ..what didn't they charge us for. Don't go for the price...go for the food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A steady favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a recent weekend we stopped in for dinner at 8pm on a Friday evening. With quick service we received our chips & salsa and ordered our entrees - chimichangas and beef flauta. Both were good, the salsa was good with the rice. Beans were nice and refried. Beef tips in the entrees were really good as was the guacamole. This is a usually stop when I am back home and will probably continue to be in the future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went to this restaurant based on reviews. The meat on the Nachos was crunchy and very disappointing. Couldn't eat it. Kids meals were good though. Probably won't go back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.