We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Game in Town Strikes again!”
Review of Thrasher's French Fries

26 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2120
(302) 227-8994
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: American, French
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    113
    36
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Thrasher's French Fries
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Only Game in Town Strikes again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want shore fries this is where you go. Lines of people waiting for hot fresh French Fries smothered in Malt vinegar and salt. The lines move fast and the fries are always fresh. Just don't ask for Ketchup. And you might as well get the big bucket because you'll end up going back anyway

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great snack on the go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fries were fresh, hot, and tasty. Great to grab a bucket to share as the stroll the boardwalk. One person in our party complained about the "no ketchup", but no one else seemed to mind since vinegar is the preferred topping.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been going to Rehobeth Beach since I was a kid (I'm a boomer) and they never fail to please. A big bucket brought onto the beach for lunch is heaven. I love that they do not offer ketchup, just vinegar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great "Boardwalk Fries"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We know that French fries are a big thing at the beach. We were surprised at the number of competing fry places along the main shopping strip in Rehoboth. This was our first visit, btw. We parked and went up to the boardwalk to check out the beach. The aroma of French fries coming from an open counter-front stand immediately caught our attention. Thrasher's. I said to my wife that fries must be a local "thing" here in Rehoboth and that we should try some.
We approached JUST as a fresh batch was dumped and salted! I doused mine real good with the apple cider vinegar they had on hand! My wife asked for ketchup and was quite taken aback when she was told they do not have any ketchup. Again, I told her it must be a local "thing" to ONLY use vinegar. Oh well.
The fries were crispy and well browned outside, yet moist and "creamy" inside. Obviously the result of Thrasher's using 100% peanut oil, which allows frying at a much higher temperature. Delicious!
If you like fries, and never had Thrasher's, you are in for a treat! Just remember to bring your own ketchup! LOL

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh my goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

How addicting these fries are! We not only grabbed them to take on the beach, I also grabbed a bucket to share on the 3 hour drive home!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thrasher's French Fries also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Thrasher's French Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thrasher's French Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.