We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Boardwalk Fries"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thrasher's French Fries

Thrasher's French Fries
26 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2120
(302) 227-8994
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great "Boardwalk Fries"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We know that French fries are a big thing at the beach. We were surprised at the number of competing fry places along the main shopping strip in Rehoboth. This was our first visit, btw. We parked and went up to the boardwalk to check out the beach. The aroma of French fries coming from an open counter-front stand immediately caught our attention. Thrasher's. I said to my wife that fries must be a local "thing" here in Rehoboth and that we should try some.
We approached JUST as a fresh batch was dumped and salted! I doused mine real good with the apple cider vinegar they had on hand! My wife asked for ketchup and was quite taken aback when she was told they do not have any ketchup. Again, I told her it must be a local "thing" to ONLY use vinegar. Oh well.
The fries were crispy and well browned outside, yet moist and "creamy" inside. Obviously the result of Thrasher's using 100% peanut oil, which allows frying at a much higher temperature. Delicious!
If you like fries, and never had Thrasher's, you are in for a treat! Just remember to bring your own ketchup! LOL

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    134
    45
    18
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh my goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

How addicting these fries are! We not only grabbed them to take on the beach, I also grabbed a bucket to share on the 3 hour drive home!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Can't beat Thrashers French Fries for the best boardwalk fries anywhere! They are an institution and not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No trip to Rehoboth is complete without a Bucket of Thrasher's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you like French Fries, try a bucket of Thrasher's. Don't spoil them with ketchup. They taste too good all by themselves.

My wife likes them with vinegar. I like them plain. Solution: 2 buckets!

Suggestion - Two of the Thrasher's locations are on Rehoboth Avenue right across from the Jolly Trolley stop. A bucket of Thrasher's makes the ride back to Dewey go much faster - and you 'll make a lot of new friends during the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, De
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worlds best French Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. No need for ketchup or anything else to these fries. Always great and a must stop anytime in Rehoboth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thrasher's French Fries also viewed

 

Been to Thrasher's French Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thrasher's French Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.