We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
15 Boardwalk at Baltimore Ave., Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2941
302-227-4588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 210 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
East Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice to have a good view of the beach. Was a little surpirsed that a small pizza with extra cheese and mushrooms was $ 20 but i guess you pay for the ocean view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    20
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped here after a tour of the Dogfish Head Brewery in Milton. We tried to find a place out there to eat, but had no luck. This Grotto's was right beside the hotel we were staying at, so we decided to eat there.

Really, the only thing the place has going for them is the excellent location. It's right on the boardwalk, with open seating so you can see the ocean and people watch right from your seat.

My boyfriend and I split a salad. Nothing to fancy there. Just some lettuce, tomato, cucumber, red onions and Italian dressing. We also ordered the Baker's Choice pizza. It had pepperoni, onion, sweet peppers, garlic, sausage and extra cheese on it. It was good, don't get me wrong. But I'm still not sure why it was voted Best Pizza in Rehoboth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best pizza year after year when we are here for a family reunion. We are coming from all over the country and our first place to meet is here! Then we talk about Grotto all year till we are there again! How is that for a recommendation! The only pizza IMO that tops it would be John's in NYC! And that's by a margin!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Italian Sub was Worthwhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Purchased the above 6 inch sub to go and must admit that it was very good with lots of ingredients that were falling out of the hard crusted roll. It cost over $7.00 much more than the $5.00 Subways 12 inch sub costs. But then this is the shore and everything is more costly compared to home. By the way I hate those counter tip jars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whats the deal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have been here several times because our grandkids like the pizza. However I do not see why Grotto's pizza is so popular the pizza is terrible, mostly sauce and very little cheese and the crust is subpar.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.