We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my first stops in Rehoboth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Papillon

Cafe Papillon
42 Rehoboth Ave Ste 7, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2122
(302) 227-7568
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my first stops in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I've been going to Rehoboth for years and have always made a point of going to Cafe Papillon at least once. I dream about their crepes and have not been able to find any anywhere that are even close. They are sooooo good. Walking into the lane where the shop is located is a pleasure and the anticipation builds when I see the awning. You get to watch your crepe being made by one of the chefs on a griddle. Their precision and ability to make the thin crepes is good entertainment. I highly recommend trying this place when you're in Rehoboth. Don't let the lines deter you, its worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middletown, de
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“France in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The crepes are fabulous. We had them for dessert, chocolate and banana and strawberry with whipped cream. They should not be missed during your visit. In the morning there is a long line. Long lines usually mean good food. That is true here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Clare, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They stand in the sweltering SUN to get these delights ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I returned to this very unique Café in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, to share for the very first time all their scrumptious treats with M'Lady...Nicely tucked into opposing sides of 'Penny Lane', a side street of cool shops that branches south of the main shopping & dining drag of Rehoboth Avenue...As you approach, you'll find a handful of smartly appointed, umbrella covered tables on your right, and on the opposite side, is another small, covered area to sit and feast out of the reach of the sun's wrath...Before and after are the two spots where you can order your food....

When we first arrived, early afternoon, the line of folks standing in the sweltering SUN was too much for us to even consider, so, my Lady & I had no problem browsing through some of the nearby shops till the line shrunk...At which time, she quickly picked out a Croissant w/fresh baked Turkey while I chose their Smoked Salmon w/sour cream & chive Crêpe...Whereupon she even more quickly grabbed one of the few remaining, covered tables across the lane, while I braved that same sweltering SUN, foolishly thinking, "How long can just 4 people in front of me take to order, right?" But as I stood there sweating, I discovered the guy at the front of the line was buying enough food for the 82nd Airborne Division...ALL of whom had parachuted down upon 3 nearby tables...

SO, by the time I reached the window, my shower of 2 hrs ago was completely a waste of time...When one of the two, young French Chefs chimed in with "Who is next, s'il vous plaît? Who is next?" {ALL the Chefs & Servers actually are French and appear to only speak English, when they are talking to the sweating hoards in line}...So, finally as I ordered my lady's Turkey Croissant, both Chefs remarked at the same time that you can only order 'Crêpes' at this window! All other 'delights' must be handled next door, upon which I replied that there was no one there to order with, which brought about a rattling fervor of 3 folks speaking French all at the same time just as one female server arrived {apparently late} to man the other side...Opps!

Not to be any further disheartened at this point {I had only waited SEVEN years since my last trip to return to Penny Lane!?!}, I lastly ordered my Crêpe which they dazzlingly whipped together in a French minute, which I then promptly left at our table, safely knowing there was NO WAY M'Lady was gonna even taste my Salmon!?! {the only plus from having a partner who does not like seafood!} So then I very quickly got her Croissant ordered at the next window, and as I waited, I drooled at all the delectable fresh, French pastries that garnished their display case...

After getting her a soft drink, I took a chance and asked for a double shot of Cappuccino, which I am INTENSELY picky about!?! Outside of my way too short trip to Bordeaux ten years ago, I have only found ONE {and NONE!} stateside cafe that could make a true and genuinely strong and tasty cup {that review will follow soon!} of Cappuccino, and sadly to say, Café Papillon was NOT one of those Cafés...!?!

BUT, the amazing taste and texture and blend of Smokey Salmon and fresh chives and creaminess SO lovingly pouched within their lighter-than-air Crêpe, made the entire venture and ordeal SO worthwhile, I completely dismissed ALL my misfortunes on my arduous sojourn to SUCH a heavenly rendezvous with ALL the French Gods & Goddesses of Luscious Enjoyment ...!!! M'Lady also liked her Croissant very much, so, since I still had half-a-cup of my warm chocolate milk left, I decided we should split one of their awesome looking Éclairs, and OH, how glad we were that I did!?!

SOMETIMES the wonders you find at the end of the rainbow, justify the tribulations you must endure to get oneself there...This afternoon was certainly one of those sweltering, sunny days...I shivered though to think I may have to wait another seven years for another return...!?! I most assuredly hope not !?!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tachikawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For anyone who has a sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hands down one of the best crêpes I've tried in the US! I ordered one of their savory crêpes, while my friend got a nutella and strawberry, both of which were superb. The owner is French and makes them right in front of you! He seemed friendly and gave us helpful tips about the area since we aren't from around there. Definitely worth the wait (which wasn't long).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wondeerful Crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've been coming here for more than 30 years. I've tried to duplicate their crepes but mine are never as good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Papillon also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.