We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Papillon

Cafe Papillon
42 Rehoboth Ave Ste 7, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2122
(302) 227-7568
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Delicious crepe! Authentic French crepes. The server cut a fresh peach and everything. Fun to watch them cook the crepe too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
woodbine, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, c'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Authentic crepes and croissants, served in a nice café setting. Frozen coffee was wonderful. Place opens up at 8am but by 7:30 there is already a line. Be prepared to wait a while in the AM if you want a crepe but boy are they worth waiting for. And the croissants are amazing. We ate there everyday on our visit to Rehoboth and will be back. Located on Penny Lane off the Main avenue in Rehoboth

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best éclair EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We leave early so as not to miss Café Papillon and that should tell you something! Get there early because everything is made fresh daily and when they're out, they're out. Pastries and crepes made by hand with love. Say hi to Maya and Jerome when you stop in. Don't miss this gem on Penny Lane!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“French patisserie NIRVANA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In a word, wow. This, from a person who takes 3 days to bake baguettes in the traditional French manner, with separate builds and 6 hours start to finish on baking day. Eclairs made with house-made-from-scratch French custard. Croissants hand-rolled and baked on site. Generous portions of coffee.

I think I died and went to heaven.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A trip back down memory lane in Paris...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I shared the ham and cheese with the hubby. We watched the man make it the entire way. Very neat. We opted for pepper as seasoning. I had thought crepes were slightly crispy, but it's been many years since I've been to France. It was delicious!! We actually also picked up 2 croissant from them earlier, but I didn't realize it was the same shop. They just looked so good, but I haven't eaten them yet. The owner had a French accent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Papillon also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.