We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crepes in Rehoboth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Papillon

Cafe Papillon
42 Rehoboth Ave Ste 7, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2122
(302) 227-7568
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best crepes in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Crepes like you get in Paris...thin and delicious...the salmon is the best, but also get the Nutella for desert.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bernville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bon Apetit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Authentic french crepes prepared right in front of you by people from France. Filling choices include eggs, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, chocolate, tomatoes and more. Located in the Penny Lane shopping alley (first block from the boardwalk, btw. Rehoboth Ave. & Wilmington Ave.).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We Love Papillon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Every summer my husband and I have at least one meal at Papillon and last week it was breakfast. We turned down Penny Lane and I went to one window to order our crepes while my husband went to the other window for coffee. We shared one crepe with egg, smoked salmon, tomato and chives and another with nutella and banana. Both were absolutely delicious! We sat at a table in the little courtyard and enjoyed our little taste of France while people watching. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crepes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Found this gem two years ago when visiting Rehobeth for the first time. Took a weekend trip to Rehobeth again and stopped in at Cafe Papillon. Enjoyed the the strawberry, neutella, and creme crepe :) this place is a must to visit - quick service and delish!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Authentic French Crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The reviews here pretty much say it all. The crepes are delicious, and made to order in a very authentic French manner, while you watch. There's a good selection of sweet and savory crepes, and the ingredients seem to be fresh.

We made it a special morning treat one day, and got up early during our lazy beach week. We were on Penny Lane by 7:40 a.m., first in line. It was worth getting up early, because the one drawback of this place is that you might have to wait a long time to get your crepes. (We heard some people waited upwards of 40 minutes.) At the window, a woman with a French accent took our orders and then expertly cooked each crepe, one at a time, while we watched. I got the savory tomato-egg-cheese, while my husband and daughter shared one with salmon (also w/tomato, egg, and cheese), and a peaches and cream. If I go back I'm just going for the fruit ones, because the peach was delicious! She actually sliced the peach right in front of us. The savory was also good, but tasted a lot like pizza, I thought.

At the other window you could get good coffee, lattes, waters, along with bakery items including real French croissants (hard to find!). The cost of several crepes, coffees, etc., adds up, so go with the idea of a special breakfast. Early in the morning, while the temperature was still fair, the outdoor cafe seating was perfect. This is a fun little experience at Rehoboth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Papillon also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.