We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar
301 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-3114
302-227-8493
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really loved the outdoor seating on the pond. It is worth the trip. Can be a little costly but I thought it was worth the experience. And the wasabi olives are a must have experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    62
    34
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Half great and half average for two couples.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Four of us had dinner with a mixture of sushi and tempura entrees. Those having sushi raved about their meal while those having general entrees were disappointed with Luke warm food.
The our waiter left a lot to be desired...while attentive to our table he was not organized...best organizational skills showed when he brought our check !
The entertainment was very good, with music & vocals by Wes Davis. If you have a chance to hear him by all means make the effort !
This restaurants saving grace is the top notch entertainment they consistently book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“LARGE, POPULAR, CREATIVE MENU AND DRINKS, OUTDOOR 2ND FLOOR DECK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Sushi or cooked, whatever you want, they have a very creative and interesting menu, cool decorating theme, and a well versed staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still Just a Factory, not a Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place has no feeling of hospitality at all. WAY too large and managed like a factory, not a restaurant. The antithesis of a real Japanese sushi joint. Sushi itself is average at best when compared to what else is locally available. Inattentive staff, uncaring management. Don't go......you will be disappointed on many levels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good sushi, live entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants when we're in town during the off-season is The Cultured Pearl in Rehoboth Beach, DE. They have different themes on different nights (such as half-price sushi on Mondays during the off-season) and live entertainment on the weekends. You don't have to have a reservation, but on many nights, it's best to have one if you have a preference on where to sit or don't want to risk waiting for a table. We prefer to head up past the front desk to the bar area where we can sit eating our favorite dishes while watching a game on television or listening to music from the main diningroom. Our favorites include Fried Panko Oysters (get all three of the dipping sauces!), one of the many different flavorings of edamame (we like the smokey choice the best) and a Firecracker roll which is amazing and one of their specialties. This is not a warm and fuzzy restaurant, but it is a local favorite, the service is good and the waiters are busy, but helpful and friendly. We're heading to the DE shore again this weekend and will be stopping in for our Cultured Pearl fix. OH! and they often have fresh, grated wasabi which has a slightly richer, sweeter flavor than the wasabi you usually find in sushi restaurants. You have to request it and there is a small charge for the real thing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.