We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the non-fish eaters and more...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Restaurant

Summerhouse Restaurant
228 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2134
302-227-3895
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For the non-fish eaters and more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the richness of the menu options and prices. We wanted fish but our kids preferred meat. So since this is best known for steaks, we found their selection of fish, sandwiches, or salads was also outstanding. Its bigger than it appears but room are smaller so the atmosphere is easy to have a conversation. There was a wait but they would text us so we could browse around town while we waited. I'll definitely be back. My husband and son are mostly into quantity and the portion sizes were very generous. I loved their signature chopped salad and it was enough for more than one meal. Everyone easily found something they liked, Service was great and the bill much less than a few other places we've been on that strip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We like to provide a menu full of variety to please each of our guests unique tastes!

Thank you
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great burgers and seafood..a nice variety on the menu. Good bloody Mary's! Can't go wrong here. Looking forward to returning. Good service, clean.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate here a couple times during the month of June and were very happy. Had their prime rib dinner with creamed spinach and sauteed mushrooms. Everything was tasty and the servings were huge!! Next time she had the caprese salad and stuck to the mushrooms and spinach. He went with the sirloin and was very pleased. The happy hour and the special menu at the bar is excellent. Will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Join us for our 3 course Prime Rib Dinner special every Wednesday and Sunday!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will not return here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The service was horrible. We were seated... My husband went to the restroom. A table set for 4 people was clear. It was me and 2 children when waitress came. She asked what drinks I would like. I ordered water and a soda. She walked away without getting my kids orders. She came back and gave me my drinks and walked away again with no chance to finish our drink orders. It took forever to finish our drink order. After we got our drinks, we ordered dinner... The $33, one pound king crab leg was "boring"... No additional sides came with it. I was still hungry. The fries and Mac & Cheese that came with the kids meals were good... I finished their sides since mine came with none! My husband liked his blackened Salmon. He said it was better than the Salmon he had the day before!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We apologize about the service during your last visit to Summer House. We would like to have the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail, please call 302-227-3895 and ask to speak with our general manager, Craig.

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service good food a little loud but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

4 kids, 2 adults. Great food for the price. Great service. A little loud but highly recommend. Crab legs are the best and steak melts in your mouth

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We would definitely suggest the crab legs and any of our steaks!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.