We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Specials -- Always Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Restaurant

Summerhouse Restaurant
228 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2134
+1 302-227-3895
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 210 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Specials -- Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A great menu but weekend specials are really the best things to order, often seafood, some steaks -- I've tried the prime rib, and the rockfish. Decent wine sepelctions and a very large bar -- don't be afraid to eat at the bar if there are no tables. Always good, upscale, a tad pricey but hey, you pay for freshness. What also strikes me is that the food comes out fast, and always hot. Servers are on the ball.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy our bar felt welcome to you, the food was fresh and hot, and the service quick! Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    70
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Summer house is a winner in the winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I ate at Summerhouse on Monday night. Although there was little open in Rehoboth, the restaurant was plenty busy. There is a large bar area but it is separate from the dining room which makes it easy to talk and visit. The service was excellent, quick and efficient. The menu is not large but there was plenty from which to choose. On Monday's in the winter, they have a half price burger special. To my surprise they had both a tuna burger and a salmon burger. ($6) I had the tuna burger and it came with one side. The roasted asparagus were delicious, crisp, tender and tasty. The tuna burger was large and didn't seem to have fillers. It was cooked with just a little pink inside and not at all dry. The burger was served on a roll with tomato, lettuce and pickle along with a wasabi aioli. Definitely tasted like fresh tuna. I will go back for sure, next time for the salmon burger. There were lots of meats on the menu as well as some fish entrees.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are happy you enjoyed our Monday night burger special. Our goal is to keep our food and service consistently great no matter what time of year it is, thank you for noticing! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not sure why this restaurant is so popular??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had dinner with my wife a few nights ago at the Summerhouse in Rehobeth. It seems to be popular on a cold night in January but the food is "barely" average. The steak I had was tasteless and the mashed potatoes tasted like they have been sitting in the dish for a few hours before the steak was added. My wife's food was also border line.
Could have been just one of those nights but I would definitely look elsewhere before coming back to Summerhouse. There has to be much better restaurants in Rehobeth for the price!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I apologize that you did not have the best experience at Summer House during your recent visit. We will speak with the chef to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give Summer House a second chance on your next visit to Rehoboth!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The restaurant has good food, but on the night and my husband and I attended, our server was preoccupied with other guests and those at the bar then checking on us. We had to ask a manager for the check because our server was nowhere to be found.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the slow service during your recent visit to Summer House, we tend to schedule less staff during the off-season and use team work to help the restaurant run efficiently. Thank you for the feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve and we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“HAD A GREAT STEAK HERE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A large restaurant and bar, been popular for years, can get all the standards here. Get a bottle of wine instead of BTG as they are a tad stingey there!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do a 6oz pour which is equal to four glasses per bottle, therefore if you're planning on having more the one glass of wine we would suggest buying a bottle as well!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.