We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Restaurant

Summerhouse Restaurant
228 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2134
302-227-3895
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 233 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Milford, Delaware
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

During the summer it's really packed. After the season ends it's much more relaxed. There are two seating areas, one near the bar and another next door separated by a partition wall. If you want the excitement of cheering to a sporting event stay on the bar side, but if you want a quiet, cozy meal opt for the other area. Both offer great service, and great eats and drinks.
The food is cooked to perfection. The staff is both friendly and knowing. If you want the excitement of a crowd or a romantic meal you can find it here. The bar menu offers several wines and beers as well as mixed drinks. Dessert I can't comment on as I was full and still had some to take home. A very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, it is greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    63
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Fenwick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Eating out on Turkey Day is usually iffey at best, but the Summerhouse in Rehoboth was great! Special menu offered AUCE turkey plate with all the trimmings, or salmon, crab cakes, prime rib, or steak! All of us ordered the turkey which was delicious and a bottle of Kendall Jackson PInot Noir which was also very good. Service was excellent as well. We will definitely add the Summerhouse to our local list of restaurants to enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response. Thank you for taking the time to write such nice review and we are so happy you chose to spend Thanksgiving with us!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've eaten here several times and I can say the Summerhouse has consistently good meals and I've tried pretty much all of them. I was also impressed with the service and management. It was a pleasure to see everyone working together to give their customers the best experience possible.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but want to that you for such a great review. We take pride in our food and service and are happy to know our team environment does not go unnoticed! Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosick Falls, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our hotel manager Jim at Avenue Inn and Spa recommended this place to us. The place has quite a variety of offerings. My wife likes seafood and I don't and this place was just right for us.

The service was prompt and the food very good. The surprise when we got the check was there is no tax on your meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy we could accommodate both you and your wife, we definitely try to give all of our guests options not just the seafood lovers.

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pumpkin crab bisque was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall excellent. Casual. Fit for foodies. Good value. Crawfish etoufee was very good. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but would like to thank you for recommending us in your nice review! The Pumpkin Bisque is one of our favorites as well!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Restaurant also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.