We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Restaurant

Summerhouse Restaurant
228 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2134
302-227-3895
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #33 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've eaten here several times and I can say the Summerhouse has consistently good meals and I've tried pretty much all of them. I was also impressed with the service and management. It was a pleasure to see everyone working together to give their customers the best experience possible.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but want to that you for such a great review. We take pride in our food and service and are happy to know our team environment does not go unnoticed! Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    90
    49
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoosick Falls, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our hotel manager Jim at Avenue Inn and Spa recommended this place to us. The place has quite a variety of offerings. My wife likes seafood and I don't and this place was just right for us.

The service was prompt and the food very good. The surprise when we got the check was there is no tax on your meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy we could accommodate both you and your wife, we definitely try to give all of our guests options not just the seafood lovers.

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pumpkin crab bisque was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall excellent. Casual. Fit for foodies. Good value. Crawfish etoufee was very good. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but would like to thank you for recommending us in your nice review! The Pumpkin Bisque is one of our favorites as well!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Expeience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

In my opinion Summer House is one of the best restaurants in Rehoboth. We were party of four and all of us had excellent meals. We started with the onion rings- yammy!!! They were made with homemade batter and dipping sauce. Also,appropriately for the season, we tried the pumpkin cream of crab soup. Splendid!

Dinner was more than satisfying. I got the fish special complimented with glass of wine. Portions were big - food delicious.
I did not have room for desert but I am planing next time to skip appetizer and try the Browne :)

Thank you Summer House!! I will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response. Thank you for your awesome review and it is a honor to be thought of as one of the best restaurants in Rehoboth! We definitely recommend skipping dinner and trying the brownie during your next visit!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just OK -- Socks not Knocked Off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Service was efficient. I had ribs, which were drippy wet with barbecue sauce. Green veggies were served with it, which I appreciated -- low fat and calories to offset the ribs! But there was nothing extra -- no bread served, a little too expensive for decor and cuisine. Used to love this place when it was about dancing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Restaurant also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.