We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
20298 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
+1 302-227-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
mechanicsburg, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dining and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I visit Dewey/Rehoboth beaches in the off season for some R&R. We dine at the BFG every time we are in the area. The food is superb, prices are reasonable and the service is great. It's difficult to name a particular dish because we have tried them all. We have learned to go early 5PM or go later. They get a large crowd every night and there may be a small wait at 6PM seating time. This is the place all the locals go so we figured it was good...and we found it to be excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for always choosing Big Fish during your visits to the beach! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    176
    55
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, MD
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice selection and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our first time here. It's noisy, but that's the environment for this active and busy restaurant. We had about a 10-minute wait. Our server (EC?) was excellent. We ordered two meals: Big Shrimp Penne and Swordfish. There was plenty to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased your first time at Big Fish was enjoyable! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fish, also other ingredients available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was 3rd visit to BFG, every few years, more a tradition to visit here, when visiting Beaches. We visited one Friday evening outside peak season, still upon an arrival, estimated waiting time was 30min. We sat at bar enjoying some drinks and table became free in 20min or less.
Menu is fishy, obviously. You can have almost anything sea creatures here, fish, lobster, crabs and oysters, boiled, grilled or cooked any way you like. Of course your friend, who doesn't like fishy things, I spotted a burger, steak and salad on the menu. Food was well prepared and spices balanced. Not too anything, as it is easier to add salt or tabasco than reduce e.g. salt if it is too salty. Waiting your food, you can draw on your tablecloth, small thing, but distinctive for BFG.
Service was good, you could take your drinks from the bar to your table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We welcome table artists!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a vacation stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Always get to Big Fish during our week in Dewey/Rehoboth. Sometimes its better than others. We arrived Wednesday at around 8:30pm and they close at 9pm. Service was great as usual but what I ordered was just ok. My swordfish was a little under cooked and did not have a whole lot of flavor. The mushroom risotto was excellent and so were the smashed potatoes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for always choosing Big Fish as a vacation stop! We apologize that your swordfish was less than great during your visit. Please let a manager know whenever something is wrong and we will do our best to fix the problem. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT FOOD...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in Rehoboth! it always has a wonderful variety of specialty dishes and there is something for everyone! It has great service and we have never been disappointed. One recommendation is to plan on arriving by 6pm or you will have a wait. It is well worth it! It is the best for seafood in the many ways it can be prepared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.