We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Fish Grill is a Great Catch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
20298 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
+1 302-227-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 205 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big Fish Grill is a Great Catch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Big Fish Grill in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware is one of the best beach restaurants we have ever encountered. It is a high volume venue but you do not get that feeling from the menu. There are offerings for all tastes and ages. There is even a vegetarian plate that sounds terrific to this non-vegetarian. While seafood is their signature bill of fare, there are also outstanding meat and pasta offerings. There is a very complete children's menu aptly titled for the Little Fish.
There are also two separate bars at which patrons can sit and either enjoy a generous libation or order dinner. The wine list is diverse and reasonably priced. The staff is pleasant efficient and knowledgeable.
If available, do not miss the Big Fish baked oysters. The oysters are chopped and mixed with bacon and mushrooms and an outstanding sauce. Oysters Rockefeller move over. You have been replaced.
Excellent main course offerings include halibut,swordfish, fried shrimp, and several steaks.
Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    189
    59
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Big, Improved Big Fish Grill Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had not gone back to the BFG for many years because of a rushed, mediocre meal experienced several years ago, and, after all, Rehoboth Beach has many other good food choices. But, friends suggested I give it another chance, and I'm glad I did. BFG has expanded, and we ate at the oyster bar in the new extension, which was very pleasant. Fresh shrimp,oysters and clams were flying out of the bar and into delighted customer's digestive systems. My friends had some of those delicious and perfectly cooked jumbo shrimp, while I had a tasty goat cheese salad with fresh greens, walnuts and dried fruit, and a tangy vinaigrette. Our entrees were similarly fresh and well-cooked, including large portions of fresh salmon, halibut and my chicken/shrimp/seafood/andouille sausage jambalaya. (One tiny flaw in that halibut dish: my friend ordered a side of Neva's potatoes, a creamy and buttery version of what you might call hash browns, to replace the mashed potatoes included in the dish; he was served both the mashed and the Neva's. BFG has a nice selection of wines and beers,and service was good, the entrees still came a little too quickly after our appetizers, but diners can control that with a few words to your server. Overall, I think I have forgiven BFG for its past transgressions, would recommend it, and I plan to go back. Be warned, BFG can get very crowded, meaning long waits. We visited on a Friday night after 8 PM, and easily found seats at the oyster bar, which I find is a nice way to eat with good friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us another chance! We are happy to know you enjoyed our new and improved Raw Bar, it is a great option for enjoying a meal on a busy Summer night!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food was well prepared, prices far lower than Europe, service prompt and efficient. Consider that in Delaware service charge is not included on the bill and you have to add approximately 20% for the waiter. A nice, pleasant place for lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We're happy to know you had a pleasant lunch at Big Fish, we hope you will dine with us again soon!

Thank you
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood Thoughtfully Prepared and Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a big place and the dinner line is usually out the door, which is probably the best recommendation. That said, the inside is all hard surfaces (think concrete floors) so it can be a very noisy place when it's full. One of our neighbors flat out refuses to go for that reason alone. Music from a multitude of slightly off, tinney-sounding speakers doesn't help either. The waitstaff is young and enthusiastic. The long bar is filled to capacity most evenings. Anything "flash fried" is a real taste treat--flounder, shrimp, scallops, etc. Not many restaurants along the east coast do cioppino--theirs will have you dreaming that you are back in Santa Barbara. When soft shell crabs are in season, they often have "whales" (their word) fried up plump and juicy. There is always an eclectic crowd with just one thing in common--love of fresh seafood thoughtfully prepared, reasonably priced and served in satisfying quantities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, the cioppino and softshells are two of our most popular specials, we're glad you enjoyed them! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Big Fish has been one of my favorites for a few years now. Last weekend I had the Tuna over garlic mashers with Lobster sauce. It was so good. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we can't wait for you to come back!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.