We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You saved my marriage! Ok, maybe I'm exaggertaing just a little.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
20298 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
+1 302-227-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“You saved my marriage! Ok, maybe I'm exaggertaing just a little.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife had a serious hunkering for some shrimp the other night, and all the seafood departments at the grocery stores had long since closed. I had never done a Big Fish take out before, all the years I lived here; but it crossed my mind last minute and I was sure glad it did. The wife got exactly what she wanted, and it was good too! She even let me have a bite. If you don't make your wife happy, she sure can make your life a living heck.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so happy you decided to give our seafood market a try and we agree a happy wife is a happy life!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    179
    56
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I hate to write an average review for a place that I like so much. But this last time wasn't so great. My wife had jumbalaya and it was just awful. Uneatable I fact. Tasted like tomato paste and chicken, sausage.
Here's what I conclude: if you want a great meal here, keep it simple. Order grill fish or order from the raw bar. Otherwise its just average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to improve.

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, NJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food! Convenient location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Big Fish on a Saturday afternoon - the day before Easter - for an early dinner. There were not too many people at that point, and we were seated in the room with the large bar. Casual and comfortable. The place filled up as we were there.
Our young server was polite and the service was good. The food got mixed reviews. I got the broiled combo that was great! My husband had the cioppino which he was so-so. I, on the other hand, enjoyed that when I tasted it. My daughter got the kid-sized spaghetti and meatball and enjoyed that. My son ordered a hot dog, and I do have to say, it left something to be desired. Big Fish needs to upgrade the quality of the hot dogs.
My one complaint is that there was a rather large group of people that came in after we ordered. They were LOUD - I think I can even say RUDE - with the way they were just about shouting at each other. And they weren't kids, either. A large group of people is fine, but if other tables cannot even have a conversation, that's just out of line. Perhaps if we were seated inside, it would have been better without a large crowd nearby. Even my kids made comments about them.
On the next visit, which I'd certainly must, I'd request that we be seated away from large groups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve. We apologize for the noise level last time you dined witht us. If you are uncomfortable with your table please let your server know and we would be more then happy to move you. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Scrumptious seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

To top off a great day of shopping at the outlets, we found a fabulous place for dinner. Using Trip Advisor, we chose the Big Fish Grill. OMG! The lobster bisque was heavenly. The Grilled Ultimate combo, which included a skewer each of shrimp, scallops, steak and a delicious lump crab cake was perfectly named. Even the side dishes were excellent. Our waiter, Eric, could not have been more accommodating either. Unfortunately, we were too full to sample the desserts but they looked delectable and huge. One suggestion- get there early to avoid lines and bring your appetite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to know you had a great first experience at Big Fish, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner on a Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We usually do not like to eat out on certain holidays and Easter is one of them. I also do not like buffets and looked for a restaurant that was serving regular dinners. the Big Fish Grill did have a special menu for Easter but had no problem giving us the regular menu for salads. The food was terrific. We shared an appetizer of Grilled Shrimp with butter and they were delicious. The salads were not the typical "greens and dressing" at an exorbitant price. I had a chopped salad that had 2 kinds of lettuce and lots of vegetables. Their Buttermilk Garlic Ranch dressing was delicious. My husband had a Greek Salad and he said it was one of the best. I had the 2-4oz. lobster tails with garlic smashed potatoes and asparagus and everything was great. My husband had the Seafood with Tortellini in a light tomato based sauce. The variety and quantity of seafood was more than he had ever had. There was shrimp, scallops, lobster and crab in it. He seldom has leftovers but this time he did.

The service was great. I was not sure of the wine and our waitress brought me a generous tasting. She checked on us frequently and so did the rest of the staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Big Fish for Easter, we are happy to know you enjoyed the food and service! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.