We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL BOARDWALK PIZZA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grotto Pizza
4565 Hwy One, Tanger Outlets Food Court Ste 220, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
(302) 645-5880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 228 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“REAL BOARDWALK PIZZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pizza by the slice the whole pie any way you want it. It could be cleaner, but the pizza makes up for it and you can sit right next to the boardwalk and people watch. The pie had just enough sauce that is on top of the of the cheese, not under it like traditional chain pizza. It's worth the trip, go check it out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    17
    9
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's good, but not like pizza in NJ or NY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The crust is soft and the sauce is tasty, but overwhelms the cheese. If it had a little more cheese, I definitely would have liked it more. We also had the caprese salad. For $8 or $9, we got several thick tomato slices, but only 3 small slices of mozzarella. Good, but not worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just another pizza...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bland?..i cant tell you more.
It is not NY style, not any style really. Just bland? A swirl of sauce makes this oizza great? Really?M?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grotta love Grotto's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

That Toby Keith song, "I Love This Bar" pretty much sums up how I feel about Grotto's. We frequent Grand Slam Grotto's on Route 1 in Lewes, with its sports bar feel, many tv's for viewing games and quizzes, and free pop-corn in the games area (please keep your kids' fingers out and get it for them, yes??). I am a pizza-snob, and usually only go for paper-thin crust with the finest ingredients. Given all the crummy pizza around, it is nice to be able to get "chain" pizza that actually tastes decent. The margherita is our favorite and we usually start out with a chopped antipasto salad, followed by pizza enjoyed with a beer. The best was when this 40-something got carded by a kid - really? I couldn't wait to stop laughing so I could tell my neighbors who I spotted sitting at the bar. The food is fun and we grab a bite here often, frequently catching up with friends & neighbors at the bar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Grottos is still the best pizza...and I miss it so much in between visits. They should expand and build one in Virginia!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.