We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1776 Restaurant

1776 Restaurant
4590 Hwy One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9790
(302) 645-9355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seaford, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Five hungry adults entered and we all left satisfied. The scallop chips are an excellent starter. Three had prime rib which is the best in the area. It was cooked to perfection or left uncooked as my husband prefers. I had a starter, mussels and sausage as my entree and it was big enough to satisfy me. Crab cakes were ordered by the fifth person who seems to order them everywhere. She enjoyed them. Only negative was the service. Paul seemed very disorganized and unable to handle his three or four tabels.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    18
    13
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The place to be for good steak in Rehoboth. It us right beside the midway movie theater. Good wine list and cozy but a bit dated decor and ambiance.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at 1776”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stopped in at 1776 for lunch, and really enjoyed the food, the drinks, the ambience and the fun staff. Thank you for a great pit stop, 1776.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
638 helpful votes 638 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Solid Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The setting couldn't be less attractive being in a boring strip mall and next to a cinema. Somehow, management have managed to make the front of the restaurant inviting and when inside you are transformed into a beautiful and masculine steakhouse. The furniture is pretty and antique like what you would find in a Yacht Club. Even the presidential theme in the paintings adds charm to the restaurant.

The waiters are old school guys like what you would find in the Italian section of NYC. They were nice and knowledgeable without being new age sugary sweet. We had the clams to start and the sauce was excellent and the scallops were a B+. The mozzarella, tomato and mango salad was perfect. The mango touch was so nice and they put just the right amount of olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the plate.

The prime rib was simply delicious and cooked to perfection. It was so soft and very tasty. The au jus was also wonderful. The potatoes and green beans were nothing special. We finished the meal off with a NYC style cheese cake which was one of the best I have had. They burned the edges as if it were creme brulee and it was special.

This is a great, high quality restaurant. I have no reservations about recommending it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed, Outdated and Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

For our anniversary, we thought we would try 1776. As people who have visited the beach areas since the 80's and residents now, we had never been there. We had BOTH a male and female waiters - very confusing. Talk about feeling like one was under a microscope...too much attentions is as annoying as not enough. The atmosphere was so 90's...the place need a decor redo!

The salad was mediocre, the filet and strip steaks were nothing like the quality we purchase at Hickmans Meats. We enjoyed a glass of wine and a dessert. Nothing special.

What was SPECIAL was the tab - $172. No more 1776 for this foodie. I will grill a couple of HIckmans Prime tenderloins and call it done, saving $100 in the process.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1776 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1776 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1776 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.