We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good...Then We Got The Tab. Blimey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Go Fish

Go Fish
24 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2120
302-226-1044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Ocean City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Very Good...Then We Got The Tab. Blimey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'd say about 25% or so overpriced...but still very good.
The portions were large. If you have a craving for classic Fish & Chips this place will easily take care of that. Much better than what the chains serve.
Here's my one tip for you: Believe the hype on their "Sticky Toffee" dessert. Get it. Get two! Just don't leave without sampling this unique concoction. I'm craving one right now.
Lunch for two, sodas and one dessert- $55.00 total (includes our 20% tip. Service was OK.)
I'll recommend it to you - just prepare yourself for a little sticker shock.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    76
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallston, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best fish & chips on this continent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had the fish & chips last evening and the fish was huge, the batter light and perfectly browned, the chips cooked to perfection all served piping hot. The cole slaw was great. We were pleansantly full afterward. I lived in Australia for years and have had really fresh British fish & chips but this rivals anything I had there. Finally, the Key lime pie was also amazing and you get a huge slice. It is not something out of a freezer, but fresh and creamy. I will definitely be back for more of everything. Thank you to the chef for the excellent meal, and the waitress for her friendliness.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great little place to get some Fisn 'n Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Since we found this place, it's a part of our annual trip to Rehoboth Beach every December. The food is good & reasonable. Doubt if we could get in during peak season, but when all the Christmas outlet shoppers are opting for the chain restaurants on the highway, this is the place the locals go. Give it a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After reading so many positive reviews I was happy to see this place is open year round. I arrived at around 2pm and the place was pretty empty so I was seated immediately. I ordered the battered fish and caesar salad (couldn't justify getting chips since I knew I was headed across the street to Thrashers later that day). My order came out quickly, and the portion sizing of the fish wasn't as big as I expected. Perhaps the dinner order is larger - at least I would hope it is given the difference in price.The fried fish was plopped on top of the caesar salad on a small plate so I ate the salad as quickly as possible to spare the bottom of the fish from getting soggy. Despite my most valiant efforts I was not successful and a good part of my fish ended up soggy. Not the smartest plating idea since I couldn't put malt vinegar on the fish without getting it on the salad either. The salad was good, the coleslaw wasn't anything special, and the fish was average. I thought there was far too much batter on the fish and I was slightly let down by the quality of the fish. Perhaps this criticism is a bit harsh but, having lived in England for a year and a half, I've had many many better fish/fish&chips meals, both in random English neighborhoods and domestically in random bars/pubs. On the positive side, service was fast and friendly, there was Sarson's vinegar on the tables, and lots of London tube decor around the cozy little restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was looking for a quick lunch and am a big fan of fish and chips. I've tried them in England, Scotland, Canada, and Eastern U.S. Most don't compare to the fish and chips I had in Dover, England--my base-line for comparison. Go Fish came close--nice big piece of fish not overwhelmed with batter and good fries. There was vinegar on the table--in most U.S. restaurants I have to ask for it. Service was prompt and friendly. Underground signs from London made a nice decor. Sound level decent--the group I was with could talk without shouting. New Castle Brown on draft. Only caveat--this was off season. I can't comment on conditions during the height of the summer season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Fish also viewed

 

Been to Go Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.