We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Pizza

Louie's Pizza
11 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2119
+1 302-227-6002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 237 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Louie's Pizza has been a staple in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware since 1974, serving locals and tourists alike some of the best Pizza, subs and grinders on the eastern shore.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Louie's experience was all good ! Good food with good service. French fries with cheese steak sub and a slice of pie. Just what we wanted hot food with a smile.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Skip the Pizza, Get the cheese steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Yes, 'pizza' is in the name and yes they serve pizza but the Cheese Steaks are where its at. I have been going to Louie's for my entire life (and mother has been going there since they've opened).

So, the cheese steak. Both the chicken and beef varieties are solid options (when I go with my dad we get both and split them so we can enjoy the different flavors). What sets Louie's cheese steaks apart is that after the meat is cooked on the flattop, they run the sandwiches through the pizza oven (referred to as 'grinder') which not only evenly melts the cheese over the meat and bread but also gets the bread slightly toasted. This means that first bite has just the right amount of crunch before getting to the juicy meat and chewy bread.

I could not adequately describe how great Louie's is so I will just say that without Louie's, trips to Rehoboth just would not be the same.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food. Too many rules for me.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I had a grinder each and they were good. There were too many rules for me, though, like people couldn't bring takeout food into the diner and they couldn't bring any food from other restaurants into the diner, plus other rules too. Big, large lettered signs for all the rules. Like the rules were more important than customers coming in to buy food. Meh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“off season stumble”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

usually a 4- 4.5. Top of my recommended pizza locations..Conveniently located near 1 of the finest boardwalks on the East Coast..
Pizza is Always better than the Ragu sweet Grotto's Tourist trap.
Louie's Taste as if the high Quality mozz & Italian White Cheeses have temporarily ventured into the yellow Zone..Danger ! Danger ! Go Back ! Pizza, "Fix" the cheese in 2014 ! Yes !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is our go-to place for pizza at Rehoboth. The cheese is great and the crust thin and slightly buttery. Good size slices for folding. We've eaten in and also gotten carry out to eat on the beach. About 13 or 14 bucks gets you a large piping hot cheese pie. We always look forward to eating their pizza when we are on the boardwalk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Louie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.