We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ORIGINALLY A BALTIMORE FAVORITE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Seafood House

Jake's Seafood House
29 Baltimore Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2131
3022276237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Jake's Seafood is celebrating 25 years of quality freshness and family tradition in Rehoboth Beach! Enjoy our award-winning Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and famous Seafood Bisque, or try one of our new menu items including Lobster Mac 'N Cheese, Fish Tacos, and Seared Scallops. We are family-friendly, serving lunch, dinner, and carry-out. We also offer a full selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. Our original location is one block off the beach in downtown Rehoboth, and our second location is on Route One (Coastal Highway) in Rehoboth.
seaford, de
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ORIGINALLY A BALTIMORE FAVORITE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A family business now graces 2 locations in Rehoboth beach, t Baltimore Avenue in the summer and Rt1 location all year long. I have always had good food here...they offer the standards and special fresh seafood and fish dishes, from recipes handed down from family. A fun time is to be had here!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    79
    75
    41
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I got the clam strips app. There was 7 strips, I asked the take out gentlemen and he said that is there normal size... Horrible I really thought it was a sample. Also got the calamari better size but nooo taste!! This place is sad compared to other seafood places in area

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Frozen food at heated prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On previous trips to Rehoboth Beach, we would stay at the Comfort Inn. Across the street is Jake's, a seafood house for the locals. If you go on a Thursday night, you can avail yourself of the lobster bake. At $19.95, it is relatively a good value, bearing in mind that the components are resuscitated from the frozen. If you can overlook that, it is a good value. If you are expecting freshly caught seafood, go elsewhere.

Our waiter was new. His lack of knowledge about the town, the restaurant and the food confirmed that. Perhaps with more experience, he will improve with age.

You just can't beat the fact that it was a very short walk from and to the hotel. This time, however, we stayed at the Holiday Inn because I had reward points. Jakes is not that convenient when you do not stay at the Comfort Inn.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Crabcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to Jake's last weekend on a family trip to the beach. I've eaten at the one on Route 1, but that was 3 years ago. Going on a Saturday night, we knew it would be busy, but we did get seated right away. Our server, Dave, was very helpful and efficient. I am aware that if the food takes a long time, it's not normally the server's fault, but the speed in the kitchen. The speed of our meal is my only complaint...it took awhile. The food itself was great. I ordered the one crab cake dinner, and the hype surrounding their specialty dish was worth the wait. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped by for Happy Hour and dinner. Rail drinks were 1/2 price. Our bartender/waitress, Devon did an excellent job of keeping our drinks full, and warning us when Happy Hour about to be over. We decided to have their Lobster dinner special for $19.95 which included veggies, and muscles and clams. Before that, appetizer were only $5. We ordered mini-crab cakes and muscles. All the food was excellent and we had excellent service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Seafood House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE

Been to Jake's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.