We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SIMPLE "WOW!" WILL DO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Steak Shop

Pete's Steak Shop
19289 Miller Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302.226.3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 231 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A SIMPLE "WOW!" WILL DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

You might miss this place if you're traveling south on Coastal Highway on your way to Ocean City or Rehoboth, but if you're passing the Sea Shell Shop just take a peek behind it and to the right and you'll see Pete's. This place is a winner on all counts. They make the absolute best Cheese Steak Subs outside of Philly and you can have them as you choose: with or without marinara sauce, but stuffed full with rib-eye steak, mushrooms and onions, then covered with your choice of american or provolone cheese and touched off with a very healthy helping of crispy fries. The bread feels and tastes homemade, crusty but soft and fresh and almost a foot long. While there I would also recommend the homemade Cream Of Crab soup and the homemade rice pudding. They also make a wide array of pizza's, gyros, subs, other sides and deserts. All are fresh and homemade. The atmosphere is bright and roomy, with hugh booths that would comfortably sit a family of 6. It's also very clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. You will absolutely love it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    21
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rehoboth beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best cheese steak outside Philly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The cheese steak was great. Rolls are perfect. Only complaint would be the woman taking my order was interrupted answsering the phone alot. Not good customer service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Easy to dismiss when driving down Coastal Hwy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Could be a case study of a poor name for a restaurant - for as we driving in for our stay in Rehoboth I did see the sign for it and thought it was a butcher shop. It was only after seeing the reviews here on Tripadvisor and heading out for dinner there, I realized I had been wrong, and that maybe a problem for this great sub/pizza shop. We tried the cheesesteak (as wonderful as folks already have said), and the Old-Style Italian sub (not quite as full flavored as the cheese steak sub). The fries were nicely done. When we get back to Rehoboth again, we will be back for the cheesesteak subs . But word of mouth (no pun intended) and reviews here on Tripadvisor will help a strong quality menu and restaurant succeed - not the name.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My new Go-To for Cheesesteaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

While it may not have the best exposure, be sure to check this place out. Nestled opposite the Food Lion in that shopping center, Pete's has fair pricing and quick service. I have yet to go in and actually sit down to order a few other items, but I can't complain about the cheesesteaks...they are legit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for Takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This new place is our favorite for take-out. The wraps are good as are the Philly Cheesteaks. Service is quick and the price is right. What a nice addition to the neighborhood!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Steak Shop also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Steak Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.