We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything fresh and homemade-delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semra's Mediterranean Grill

Semra's Mediterranean Grill
19 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-226-4976
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 205 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek, Middle Eastern
Description: Serving Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner. A haven for vegetarians and meat lovers. Our specialty is our Gyros, Shawarma, Kabobs, Falafel. Plenty of salads. All food prepared fresh daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner. A haven for vegetarians and meat lovers. Our specialty is our Gyros, Shawarma, Kabobs, Falafel. Plenty of salads. All food prepared fresh daily.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything fresh and homemade-delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Ate there today based on reviews and food was all excellent and owners/staff very helpful. They had a delicious shredded chicken/tomato soup (arabas corba) and at the owner's recommendation I added some of the homemade ground chili pepper (owner's mom dries them and grates them up) which gave the soup just the right kick. The warm pita was very good. My steak & cheese wrap was fresh and not greasy. My wife's lamb gyro salad, again fresh and light with lots of tender lamb and feta cheese. We finished it off with the baklava, not the heavy honey laden pastry at some places but a lighter Turkish version, very tasty topped with ground pistachio. Would definitely eat there again, and the sit down restaurant part of the establishment was very relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fabulous find in Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A friend told us that he had the best bowl of soup he'd ever had when he was in Rehoboth this winter and recommended Semra's . What a find! My husband and I had the most delicious light dinner there, each dish fresh and tasty. My husband had a vegan lentil soup and I had a tomato chicken soup, each served with delicious, freshly grilled pita triangles. We followed this with the most delicious Greek salad, loaded with feta and a fabulous homemade dressing and a chicken kabob sandwich. Both were outstanding . We took home their rice pudding, creamy and perfect. The service was excellent and both the husband and wife owners genuinely seemed to
care that we liked their food. We are returning tomorrow for lunch.

.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had in Rehoboth Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The owners of this Mediterranean Grill really care about the food they prepare. Everything is fresh, healthy and delicious. We had the hummus with pita, Greek salad, Iskender platter - sliced traditional Gyro served over a cut-up pita with a mildly spicy tomato and red pepper marinara sauce, yogurt and roasted peppers, and Kofte platter-delicious, juicy char-grilled beef and lamb patties seasoned mildly with yummy Turkish herbs and spices. Both platters came with rice and the Kofte plater added vegetables. For dessert we had one piece of baklava and one of Kadayif. The baklava was the best we ever had...not overly sweet as many are, extra thin phyllo and with finely ground pistachio instead of walnuts. The kadayif was even better...outstanding. John explained everything we asked about expertly. We bought some sumac in a small container and some linden tea which tasted like it had honey in it although it didn't...... Brand was Dogadan. The prices were very reasonable and the service was excellent. They had indoor sit down dining.
www.semras.com to join mailing list. 19 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, 19971 Phone: 302-226-4976

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Semra's is excellent because the owner, Semra is a solid citizen. She makes delicious food at an affordable cost. I also love that Semr'as is in my favorite place - Rehoboth Beach Delaware!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington DE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Second rate service and third rate food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We planned a day at the beach and about 2pm were both hungry for lunch. I remembered this place opening last year and we passed many, many restaurants on the way to Semra's.
In we went to a completely empty restaurant. That should have been our first clue. I ordered the gyro salad, my husband ordered a gyro sandwich. And 2 sodas. Within 5 minutes the food came out, so it obviously could not have been cooked to order. We never saw the waiter/host/owner again. We heard him tell another table the empty shaker bottle we had on ours was a spicy mix to use on the food. My gyro meat was both greasy and dry at the same time, with the ends all curled up and brown. No taste. None. My husband's meat was tasteless. Never offered soda refills, and found out at our bill our sodas were $2.25 each!! Plus, not a chip or fry or pita was given with our food. For $8.99 each?? No chips or pita?
Never go back. Premade, tasteless, greasy, overpriced. So many other choices there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semra's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Semra's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semra's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.