We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but other places are better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bay Steakhouse - CLOSED

Old Bay Steakhouse
4572 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
3026458273
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Delaware
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ok, but other places are better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I had dinner there the other night after getting a discount coupon. Pluses - the crabcakes were very good (full of lump crab meat and seasoned very nicely), garlic mashed potatoes were very good, and server was polite & attentive. Negatives - my NY strip was not of the quality I expected at these prices and not properly cooked at first (very gristly, not very good flavor, get way better quality at a chain), no bread was offered, and I was charged more than the listed menu price for a dish. We might give it another try one day for appetizers as some of those sounded pretty good, or on their special rib night since other diners have given it good reviews, but other than that would not plan to return for dinner because there are just so many other places in the area that have better food at comparable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    17
    9
    10
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“At RB, you can do so much better than here...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The kids wanted a change, so we tried Old Bay. Like the menu, the overall dining experience is average, at best. The service was OK, but the restaurant was empty during our off-season visit so it's not like the place was hopping. My hat is off to the diner who previously raved about the crab dip. I've tried about every crap dip in the local area and this is the worst thus far. It tastes much more like salty cheese than like crab. We barely touched the dish and our server made no offer to remove it from the bill, so lesson learned. We all chose the rib special and I agree that their sauce is fantastic. Unfortunately, something about the meal didn't agree with us. Let's just say that it was the longest three hour trip home ever. Maybe ours was an isolated incident, but why take the risk when there are so many better places to dine in the area?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good. A lot of food for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went there for a late lunch/early dinner. The service was grat and the food was very good. My friend got the seafood alfredo and it was loaded with shrimp and the sauce was excellent. I should have gone for a seafood dish that day, but I had the hamburger which was good. Try this place and you will not be disapointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Nice for a casual dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We started with apps at the bar - Ribs and Shrimp - both were very good.

For dinner my wife had the Fresh Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes:
Broiled Maryland crab cakes with Dijon cream and two sides

I enjoyed the Trout special

Casual atmosphere. Our server was excellent.

Give OB a try, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to Old Bay because someone gave us a gift certificate. The crab dip appetizer was outstanding. I ordered half rack of ribs and a crab cake. The ribs were among the very best I have ever had. (Corner Stable in Baltimore is THE best!). They were very meaty and tender. Bourbon sauce was very sweet and tasty. Service was excellent and staff was very friendly and helpful. The happy hour crowd in the bar was a bit noisy, but that could be a plus or minus depending on your personality type. Not a plus for me. All things considered...it was very good. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bay Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bay Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.