We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Mixture

Modern Mixture
62-A Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-227-0600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Middle Eastern, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Woodbine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here twice, two evenings in a row. The food was fresh and hot. The restaurant itself is rather small and the decor is decidedly not upscale, but that doesn't matter. This isn't that sort of place. The burritos were stuffed with tasty meat and fresh vegetables. The fish and shrimp tacos were piping hot and delicious. The margaritas weren't bad either. And because of the small size of the place, the food was prepared and served promptly. And all for a very reasonable price. The staff was also very friendly. I'd highly recommend giving this place a try when visiting Rehoboth Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    22
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I picked this solely based on the reviews I read here. We went in late for lunch so the place was not crowded, the staff was friendly. The Tamals we ordered were fresh and well made, though a little bland. But I was very disappointed with the falafel sandwich. It was weirdly sweet. My hubby was pleased with the fish tacos he ordered and the chips and dip it came with were excellent. It was good they had a choice of salsas we could take and that made the whole meal lot more appealing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainq33
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We took the family for dinner and the food lived up to all of the reviews. The menu offers something for everyone. Food was excellent with fresh ingridients and the salsa bar had a great selection. We got in early before the crowds so service was fast. Will add MM to our annual Rehoboth hit list.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Went 3 times on vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was there on vacation with my family and one or all of us were there a few times. We loved the food. Personally I am a salad nut and had the house chop, the middle eastern (falafels were amazing) and the breakfast salad (can't remember the name of it). All were great. My kids love the burritos and quesadillas. My wife was particularly fond of the desserts.

The place is small as is the kitchen so we did have to wait a bit for the food one of the times but it was expected because the place was packed. The waitress was very nice and checked on us frequently. I'm sure we will return during our vacation next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family ate here in early Aug 2013 based on the glowing reviews I read here. Although the restaurant was busy, we were seated quickly. It took awhile for the drinks to come out and another fairly long wait for our food. I got a salad, which looked beautiful, but had absolutely no flavor. My ds had a quesadilla, my dh got a breakfast burrito and my dd got the Cuban sandwich. All of them were huge, but not all that flavorful. Our bill for the meal was close to $60, which is way more than I pay at my local Chipotle for a meal that tastes better. I'm giving a 3 star rating because I do appreciate having some options for fresher eating at the beach, but I think the restaurant would do better to have smaller portions with bigger flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Mixture also viewed

 

Been to Modern Mixture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Mixture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.