We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Mixture

Modern Mixture
62-A Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-227-0600
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Middle Eastern, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just went in for a warm-me-up drink and ended up having the banana, chocolate chip and nutella burrito that was heavenly! The owner is very friendly and the service is great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    86
    18
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erwinna, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

wonderful cuisine, cafe/ gallery atmosphere, delightfully delicious, fresh ingrediants, tasty, perfect temperatures and pleasing appearances , worth taking the time to check it out, I like variety, so i tried many dishes, and i would highly recommend going with a group and trying all of the appetizers, and then go to the main course, you will be glad that you did, children will really enjoy the stuffed macoroni and cheese balls, ( smiles) and its casual too !! the owners are also very accomodating and serve very generous portions. you can see that they love to create thier dishes, like a work of art,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy and delicious with personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We discovered this little gem of a restaurant on the first day of a long weekend, and returned each day for lunch or breakfast, because it was THAT good! Before we even ate, we noticed how the owners greeted many people by name. After 3 days, we realized they truly get to know their customers as best they can, making you feel like you've been welcomed into their home for a meal.

The menu is an eclectic mix of traditional mexican and middle eastern food. Sounds weird? Say that after you've had falafel inside a veggie burrito and you will feel differently. Between 5 of us, we sampled sandwiches, salads, soups, burritos, egg dishes, and coffee drinks. All were flavorful, fresh, and delicious.

If you are the cheesy fries and wings type, this is not your place. If you are looking for a meal that fills you up with healthy, nutrient packed ingredients, then venture in. Going for a run and need a protein smoothie after? They have several smoothie options full of post-workout nutrients. Everything we bought cost less than $10. One person could easily eat a meal with a coffee for less than $10.

A restaurant is truly only as good as it's owners, and this place shines as a result of the combination of people running and working it. We will make it our home-base restaurant whenever we return to Rehoboth.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fresh Food with healthy options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a wonderful addition to the counter service spots in Rehoboth Beach. A wonderful change from all the pizza, burgers and fries. The house chopped salad is fantastic and unique with cactus salad in the mix- they are very accommodating and I like to get it with grilled chicken for some protein. Vegetarian burrito and tamales were both really wonderful. The Torta Cubana (hot mexican sandwich) is everything a sandwich should be- pork, ham, cheese, mustard, pickles, grilled bread, PERFECTION. Though I have not tried a large portion of their menu, I have no doubt that everything is fantastic. Its the perfect mix of healthy as well as indulgent but fresh wholesome food. The owner is always there and obviously very dedicated to delivering a superior product. Do yourself a favor and get to Modern Mixtures now. There is something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Delightful, friendly staff and delicious food. If you've had enough of ice cream, boardwalk fries and crappy Grotto pizza, definitely check this little place out.

I had the fish taco daily special and it was wonderful. Fried fish in soft tortillas with a red cabbage pico de gallo. Also came with some black bean salsa and chips. It's not on their regular menu, but it should be--ask for it!

They've also got an assortment of Mexican sodas--I thought the apple soda was particularly refreshing on a hot summer day.

It's a shame this cafe/restaurant has taken up residence in a storefront that does very little to make passersby aware of its presence. Look for the orange awning and the double doors!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Mixture also viewed

 

Been to Modern Mixture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Mixture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.