We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of a(MUSE)

a(MUSE)
44 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302.227.7107
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $25 - $111
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 1st & 2nd
Lewes, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Chef/Owner Hari Cameron cares about his craft and it's evident in the preparation and presentation of the food. We've been to a(MUSE) several times and, with each visit, are more impressed. The menu changes often, based on ingredient availability. The "Snacks" and "Small Plates" are perfect for sharing (though you won't want to...). It just gets better with the "Mains". We recently had the long island duck breast and the local pork loin and they were sublime. Nice wine list, too. Desserts: you'll want to lick the plate...
Servers are knowledgeable, timing is perfect. Atmosphere is welcoming and the decor has some fabulous touches. Go there. It's an event, a creative dining epiphany!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    45
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington DE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very excited to go down to the beach in the off season, and even more to score a seat at the hottest place in Rehoboth, a place you can't touch in the summer. We'd heard so many wonderful things about it everywhere, we couldnt' wait.
It was worth waiting for. We started with drinks, then our wonderful waiter Cassidy showed us how the menu works. They have snacks, plates, and mains, then desserts. We started off with the pickled vegetables, with creme fraiche, toasted bread, and marscapone dust. Perfect mix of sweet, salty, crunchy, and soft. We got the Perfect Snack with roasted eggplant, homemade flatbread, and sea salt. Again, just perfect and addictive. We got the Potted Chicken and didn't love it, only because we're not such foie gras fans, nothing to do with the restaurant. We finished our small plates with the Brussels Sprouts, and since we do not eat pork, they made it with duck bacon. Amazing.
They gave us a lovely cheese plate they said had been made for someone and was "extra". Very nice!
Because that wasn't enough (it was, we just wanted to eat more), we got the scallops. This pushed it over the top for us. Perfectly seared on one side, huge and sweet, they came on a bed of steel cut oats (!) with some sort of non sweet crunchy popped granola, and pumpkin cubes. Yet again, perfect bites of sweet, savory, salty, soft, and crunchy.
No dinner is complete without dessert, and this was spectacular. Hari's beach is chocolate ice cream, covered in graham cracker crumbs, with gingerbread driftwood and cinnamon marshmallow foam. Unbelievable.
The chef comes out and talks to everyone, explains things, and asks how things were. It was just the perfect meal. We can't wait to come back again, and told everyone we know how just perfect it was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best meal in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We saved a(muse) for our last night in Rehoboth, and were not disappointed. Excellent, creative food in a simple but comfortable room. Lovely service. We had a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are the parents of two young children and don't get out often. So, when we have the opportunity to dine alone we are very selective. We were not dissapointed with a(muse)!

Our night alone just happened to coincide with the Jazz Festival, so when we tried to make reservations there was no availability, but we decided to take our chances anyway and see if there was any room at the bar. There were no seats at the bar when we arrived, but within 10 minutes we had perfect bar seats. The atmosphere was lovely. Small and cozy. We ordered some amazing cocktails. It was obvious the bartenders were experienced. Then some wonderful small plates that were as beautiful as they were delicious. Lastly we split an entree. I am fairly certain I have never eaten a better Filet!

It will be hard to go elsewhere from now on.

Thanks Hari!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have been dining at a(muse) since it's opening. It's our favorite restaurant and our go-to whenever we have out of town guests visiting us. I could eat here everyday and never tire of chef Hari's genius culinary creations. If you have the time, you should try the 11 course tasting.....it will knock your socks off. There is no restaurant quite like this in Rehoboth Beach.....and none that even come close. The menu is fun and creative....and it changes constantly. Ingredients are local and seasonal.....some are even foraged by the chef himself! The wine list and specialty cocktails are superb. The servers are super friendly and very knowledgeable. If you want a fantastic culinary experience...this is the place. Go to a(muse)! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a(MUSE) also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to a(MUSE)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a(MUSE), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.