We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our regular stops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Browseabout Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Browseabout Books
133 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
(302) 226-2665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Shopping in Rehoboth Beach
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of our regular stops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

As we're down in Rehoboth at least once a month, this is the one place we NEVER miss. It's my kids favorite place at the beach...books, toys, things for your house....a great and unique combination. They do benefit from really being the only book store in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“so many things to check out in this place, grand kids loved the Thomas selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

huge, books of all kinds, great place to get some fun things also. We love stopping in here on all our trips.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Best Bookstore Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I always make a point every time i visit Rehoboth to stop at this bookstore. It is never a 5 minute browse. I usually get caught up in the atmosphere. There is so much to look at and explore. You are never made to feel like you have overstayed your welcome. They have great merchandise. The best thing lately is that they gave more room in the beach decoration area so you are not knocking over stuff. Love it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“customer service needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I like to support independent bookstores because I know it can be difficult to compete with the big chains and the online book sellers. Staff here are never rude but they do not go out of their way to be helpful either. If I cannot find something and ask, they more or less say well if it wasn't there we don't have it. Often they will not offer to help you look and I have never been asked if I would like them to see if they can get it. I am referring to books and magazines, not their gift shop section. I think the reason they stay in business is that there is no competition nearby. I wish there were.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“This is a bookstore squared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Constantly upgrading his inventory, Steve, the owner, has created an eclectic tourist and local destination of merit. Aside from the fine books displayed for sale, the focus is uniquely on local and regional interests. The toys for all ages are imaginary. The regionally branded items are unique. There seems to be an unlimited number of shelving units (acquired from closed bookstore buyouts) stocked with miscl. merchandise worth looking over. The food/coffee bar with limited seating is pleasant. Showing all this stuff for sale in a low temperature, non-pushy setting is refreshing. You could hang around all day just looking at the shoppers and no one on the friendly staff would bother you. Its a great chill-out place to spend some quality time. Even if you don't read books.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browseabout Books also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Browseabout Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browseabout Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.