We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Delaware Ave., Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very comfortable visit, close to beach and everything happening in Rehoboth. Great hosts. Room was small but adequate. Would have liked one more chair in room, there were 2 of us. Overall, best value at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    23
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
117
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here most recently and it was just wonderful! Matt and Jerry made us feel right at home. They are friendly, fun, and welcomed us in their home as if we were family. I had such a good feeling about it and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our 5th trip to the Lighthouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, and each time, Matt and Jerry welcome us home. The rooms are great, the service is great and always feel comfortable. We've already booked our room for next year.

Room Tip: We like the third floor rooms, particularly Key West, primarily because they're a bit larger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in the cottage (more like an apartment) in back of the B&B as we have for many years. The cottage has its own private patio. The cottage accommodated us well and the kitchen and three separate entrances are bonuses.

The Lighthouse is within walking distance of everything you want to do in Rehoboth. Why is this important? Parking! During the summer, it can be difficult to find parking at meters. At the Lighthouse, they have private parking for you. Short walk to beach (1/2 block), boardwalk, dining, nightlife and shops.

The rooms are very clean, modern and well-appointed. The bathrooms are spotless and sanitized.

We have been staying at this B&B for several years and have never been disappointed! Hosts Matt and Jerry go out of their way to ensure your vacation is perfect. From where to eat, to where to shop, these gentlemen know Rehoboth and all the dining specials, events and inside tips.

The Saturday Wine and Cheese happy hour for the house guests on the front porch is a must do.

It is refreshing to know clean, cool rooms and incredible hospitality await you when heading to the Lighthouse Inn on Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lighthouse Inn for two nights midweek. We booked it pretty last minute so these were the only two days we could get there. We stayed in the Egyptian Room which has a king size bed, a flat screen tv, and private bathroom.

Matt and Jerry were great hosts; parking our car, giving us great dinner suggestions, and sharing stories during breakfast. The location was so perfect that we walked almost everywhere and barely needed the car. The best beach day was the day we were checking out and they were kind enough to let us keep the car there while we soaked up the sun before heading home.

The only thing I wish we could have experienced is the famous Sunday Brunch. But there will be a next time and hopefully soon!

Room Tip: The Egyptian Room was comfortable and quiet with a private bath. The shower was pretty small though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First let me say I have been vacationing in Rehoboth for over 45 yrs most of the time renting homes for a week. This time my husband and I came just for the weekend and had the most relaxing ,wonderful time ever! Matt and Jerry are the consummate hosts and make you feel right at home in their lovely bed and breakfast. Our room the" Cape May" room was just perfect ,clean and we slept like babies in the oh so comfortable bed. The breakfast was awesome with the freshest fruits, homemade muffins , preserves, bagels etc but then on Sunday they hit it out of the park with mimosa's and Red (strawberries), white(coconut) and blue(blueberries) french toast with homemade tropical syrup and turkey sausage and it was to die for! The location cannot be beat half a block to the beach and boardwalk . I 100% recommend Lighthouse Inn and we will be back!! Thank you Matt and Jerry for the best mini vaca we have had in years!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachblock, Owner at Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two midweek nights, and we selected this B&B based on TripAdvisor's #1 ranking.

The positives include:
- Location, 1/2 block from the beach (though an especially crowded portion of it)
- Free loaner beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels (which we took to the much quieter Delaware Beach State Park, a few miles south)
- Helpful, friendly hosts (even to schlepping bags upstairs for us)
- On-site free parking (street parking is very expensive)
- Comfortable bed (king-size in our case, although queen would have been adequate)
- Very clean and well maintained
- Pleasant porch for breakfast

Not so great:
- Weekday breakfasts, which were almost entirely store-bought items and less elaborate than at some chain motels. Banana jam was labeled as homemade; freshly baked bread (though probably from frozen dough) was offered one morning; and, hard cooked eggs (yolk tending to black) were available--these, plus coffee, were all that were made in-house. It wasn't bad, but I am used to B&Bs (in Rehoboth and elsewhere) where the second "B" is as important as the first.
- Although our third floor room was large, the sloping ceiling reduced usable space. Further, lots of floor space was taken up by tchotchkes, including a large plant with widely spread leaves. There was, as a result, no proper place for suitcases and other bags, which had to be left out on the floor. I tripped over one, fortunately with just a minor abrasion resulting.
- They only provide one hand towel for two people, and (like other hotels) they ask you to reuse towels for "ecological" reasons. However, they do not provide adequate rack space to spread out two wet bath towels and wash cloths, so they can dry in a reasonable amount of time.

To sum up, This is a perfectly adequate B&B for a short stay, but I am hard pressed to believe that it is really the best one in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Delaware Ave., Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 1/2 block to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, four rooms and one cottage available for rental with a nautical beach atmosphere.  All rooms have private bathrooms, AC, heat, remote controlled fireplace, direct-TV, DVD/VCR, Sonny radio with CD player, in-room refrigerator, videos, free parking, a quiet patio with fountain, complimentary wireless Internet access and upon request, a 40-minute complimentary Thermal Acupressure Massage on our Chi Bed. For the beach we provide free chairs, umbrella, towels, cooler and ice. Wine and cheese served on Saturdays in Season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lighthouse Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.