We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Sandcastle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington, DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic and Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Sandcastle Motel in Rehoboth Beach, DE is a great bargain motel. It's safe, clean, and extremely close to the beach. I was looking for a cheap place to stay on a short vacation and was shocked to see that the beachfront hotels were so expensive. This hotel is no frills - the halls and elevator are not super classy and the TV is about 20 years old. Though the room was basic, it was very clean and the free parking is really a plus. The pool was also clean and not super crowded. Though a few small kids were running around in the halls in the morning, the hotel is mostly quiet. Definitely a good deal if you are looking for a cheap, clean stay but no frills.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — No frills
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

If you are looking for a hotel that is close to the beach, restaurants and is affordable, then this is the place to stay.
The rooms are not fancy but has everything you would need for a beach stay.
The bed was flimsy and uncomfortable so I recommend at least bringing your pillow.
The rooms have balconies. Ask for a room that faces the ocean for the best views.
FREE parking is available. There is an ice machine inside the parking garage as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

Good price for the excellent location right by the beach, shops, and restaurants, but still quiet. Motel was flexible when we were running a day behind on our trip, this was before Memorial Day weekend when it was less crowded though. Our king size bed came with an extra bed in the room (which was nice to put our luggage, etc). Maid service was average and there a few ants (but nothing major). No safe in room.

Definitely check out Claws next door for a great happy hour (both drinks and food...$5 for Alaskan Crab legs) and the Frogg Pond on 1st street for the best wings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ants
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

The Sandcastle was a decent place to stay in Rehoboth. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk and located close to everything, right in the downtown area. You get to park for free for your whole stay, which beats paying the meter .75 cents an hour every three hours. The pool (located on the 2nd floor) was nice, but could have used a little sprucing up. I did get a ton of use out of it though since the water at the beach was a little chilly for my liking. The sun deck was incredible for lounging and people-watching (for those of you out there who like to do that sort of thing), but closed at 10pm, the same time as the pool. The rooms were okay, two double beds, fridge, nice bathroom, a little kitchenette type of area and a teeny tiny little personal balcony area with 2 plastic chairs. The TV was ancient, but had sufficient cable, there was no alarm clock in the room, no way to access the internet (wi-fi or otherwise because the phone was a hard-wired desk phone), and housekeeping always came at goofy times. I did manage to get a wireless signal out on the balcony with my laptop for those of you interested in wi-fi access, and that;s only if you don't mind using an unsecured network. Otherwise, there's an internet cafe right up the street about a block or so away.

All in all, our stay was relaxing here and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, and the sundeck/pool area
  • Disliked — The parking garage was hard to navigate, and no wi-fi inside the hotel!
  • Tips/Secrets — To use your wi-fi, go on your balcony.... also, bring your own alarm clock (luckily my cell phone had one!)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I stayed at this Motel last weekend and it was much better than I thought (June 2006). The rooms were clean and adequate. The pool was clean and adequate as well. The location is great and the rooms served there purpose. It's not the best, but definitely not the worse I have seen. The Motel was not crowded- possibly because we went early in the seaon. The parking lot can be difficult. The upper level was easier to navigate. Hint park so that you get a clear shot at the entrance/exit. There is no Internet access so -this does make for a truly restful vacation. The televisions are a few years old and do not have any video/audio inputs for video games or portable dvd players, the cable was survivable- one kids channel cartoon network, espn, book world and others. There is an ice machine $.25 for ice and a vending machine. My room did not have an alarm clock which can be good or bad depending on your perspective. The sink and refrigerator were clean. Overall the motel was fine there were 14 people in our party in 4 rooms and no one complained. About 3 blocks 5-7 minute walk from beach.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

I loved that we could walk to everything - there was a very cozy sushi bar in the front of the motel that was very good. Would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Sandcastle. Our room fit our needs: refrigerator, two double beds, and a sink separate from the bathroom made it easier to get ready. We loved the private (small but a least something) balcony. The cleanliness of our room was above average, but not excellent. The pool water was murky and the area around did not seem clean at all. The sun deck off of the pool was nice. The front desk was nice and helpful. Overall, the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.