We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location by Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Sandcastle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location by Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

Good price for the excellent location right by the beach, shops, and restaurants, but still quiet. Motel was flexible when we were running a day behind on our trip, this was before Memorial Day weekend when it was less crowded though. Our king size bed came with an extra bed in the room (which was nice to put our luggage, etc). Maid service was average and there a few ants (but nothing major). No safe in room.

Definitely check out Claws next door for a great happy hour (both drinks and food...$5 for Alaskan Crab legs) and the Frogg Pond on 1st street for the best wings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ants
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
41
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

The Sandcastle was a decent place to stay in Rehoboth. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk and located close to everything, right in the downtown area. You get to park for free for your whole stay, which beats paying the meter .75 cents an hour every three hours. The pool (located on the 2nd floor) was nice, but could have used a little sprucing up. I did get a ton of use out of it though since the water at the beach was a little chilly for my liking. The sun deck was incredible for lounging and people-watching (for those of you out there who like to do that sort of thing), but closed at 10pm, the same time as the pool. The rooms were okay, two double beds, fridge, nice bathroom, a little kitchenette type of area and a teeny tiny little personal balcony area with 2 plastic chairs. The TV was ancient, but had sufficient cable, there was no alarm clock in the room, no way to access the internet (wi-fi or otherwise because the phone was a hard-wired desk phone), and housekeeping always came at goofy times. I did manage to get a wireless signal out on the balcony with my laptop for those of you interested in wi-fi access, and that;s only if you don't mind using an unsecured network. Otherwise, there's an internet cafe right up the street about a block or so away.

All in all, our stay was relaxing here and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, and the sundeck/pool area
  • Disliked — The parking garage was hard to navigate, and no wi-fi inside the hotel!
  • Tips/Secrets — To use your wi-fi, go on your balcony.... also, bring your own alarm clock (luckily my cell phone had one!)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I stayed at this Motel last weekend and it was much better than I thought (June 2006). The rooms were clean and adequate. The pool was clean and adequate as well. The location is great and the rooms served there purpose. It's not the best, but definitely not the worse I have seen. The Motel was not crowded- possibly because we went early in the seaon. The parking lot can be difficult. The upper level was easier to navigate. Hint park so that you get a clear shot at the entrance/exit. There is no Internet access so -this does make for a truly restful vacation. The televisions are a few years old and do not have any video/audio inputs for video games or portable dvd players, the cable was survivable- one kids channel cartoon network, espn, book world and others. There is an ice machine $.25 for ice and a vending machine. My room did not have an alarm clock which can be good or bad depending on your perspective. The sink and refrigerator were clean. Overall the motel was fine there were 14 people in our party in 4 rooms and no one complained. About 3 blocks 5-7 minute walk from beach.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

I loved that we could walk to everything - there was a very cozy sushi bar in the front of the motel that was very good. Would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Sandcastle. Our room fit our needs: refrigerator, two double beds, and a sink separate from the bathroom made it easier to get ready. We loved the private (small but a least something) balcony. The cleanliness of our room was above average, but not excellent. The pool water was murky and the area around did not seem clean at all. The sun deck off of the pool was nice. The front desk was nice and helpful. Overall, the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2004

Stayed here for 2 weekend nights and found it to be pretty basic in decor but clean. Room seemed like a modest effort at renovation had been made in recent years. Location is 2 blocks from the beach and on Rehoboth Ave. It's convenient, quiet, and there's free parking. Also has an indoor pool (though I never checked that out).

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#22 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#17 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.