We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as typical chain hotel, and has a lower price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandcastle Motel
123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Almost as good as typical chain hotel, and has a lower price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and 2 young children (2 yrs. and 7 mos.) stayed for 3 nights. We found the rooms at the Sandcastle to be acceptable - ALMOST what you might expect from your average chain hotel. Though we had a good stay, the place is a bit outdated, a bit dingy, and very basic. The price (around 2/3 of what other hotels in similar location were charging) is the primary reason we may decide to return.

THE GOOD:
-The location is great - on Rehoboth Ave. and near the nightlife (and alternative nightlife) on Baltimore St. Only two blocks from the beach (It was a long walk with two little kids and a cooler, though!).
-The desk staff was very friendly, and happy to assist when needed.
-The rooms were clean upon arrival - looked exactly as pictured on the hotel website.
-Everything was walking distance - we parked the car and didn't use it. (the info in some reviews saying that SUV's don't fit inthe garage is false. We were parked next to a Chevy Suburban, and saw Ford Explorers, Jeep Grand Cherokees, and Nissan Armadas, among others in garage - see my pictures)
-Street noise did not bleed into the room. Despite loud dance music being played at the man-friendly Aqua Grill across the street, the sound did not come into the room.
-Wi-Fi and Cable TV worked fine.

THE BAD:
-The housekeeping service did not vacuum during our visit. Everything else was ok - beds were made, towels replaced, trash emptied - but sand was constantly on the floor after day one.
-The hotel is older and has corridors open to the elements, giving the place a kind of run-down feeling. Your most basic chain hotel almost certainly has newer paint/carpet/furniture/linens. The parking garage houses a lot of garbage and feels a bit sketchy.
-The beds are made with a plastic mattress cover. They made the beds extremely loud and uncomfortable. We took them off after the first night and the beds were rendered fine.
-The pool, while clean, was pretty small - not really suitable for my 2 yr. old.
-The lobby coffee is on a burner all day and night and undrinkable - should be considered a hazard, not an amenity.

THE LOWDOWN:
If you are not looking for any luxury, the Sandcastle will likely suit you. It is clean and convenient. If you are looking for more than basic, you may want to try someplace more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
29
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We found this motel to be great for what we needed. It is located 2 blocks from the boardwalk, clean and has a very friendly staff. While it may be a little outdated, our family just wanted a place to sleep because we spent the majority of our time at the boardwalk or beach. The Sandcastle Motel was perfect for what we wanted... it is cheap, clean and has a great location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This Motel is in a great location! right on Rehoboth avenue... steos away from the restaurants and shops and only 3 blocks from the beach. The motel is definitely for the traveler on a budget who is not looking for a fancy, modern place to stay. This motel is definitely outdated... but who goes to the beach to stay in the room? My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The front desk staff were very frendly and helpful. There is also an indoor pool and sun deck here (but we didn't take advantage of either). The free parking was also a plus. Some negatives are that you have to pay 1$ for ice and and that the hotel is right next to the fire station (the horribly loud siren startled us a few times). Overall, the Sandcastle Motel is a nice, clean place to stay with freindly staff, in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Close to the beach is the only thing going for this place. We left our final day at 5am because my husband and I were up all night because the beds were the worst in the world and the air conditioner was sooo loud we didn't get any sleep. The plastic on the mattresses made noise everytime you moved, gross. You know it is bad when you walk down the hallway and your 8 year old is making comments about how old and dated it is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This is ok for price/location. I would have to say that if you are pretty desperate for a 1 to 2 night stay, then this is fine. If you are looking for a comfortable/somewhat accommodating place to stay for a week or even almost a week, then keep looking. The beds are the worst in the world. Its like laying on a brick, every morning my wife and I would wake up with neck and shoulder pain, and this is even after they just updated all of their bedding. The kids even complained that they tossed and turned. While taking a shower, the water would all of a sudden change to burning hot or freezing cold, whatever it felt like, not very pleasant. The parking is Very tight and short. If you have anything bigger than a midsized Suv, then your not parking here. We have also never been to a motel/hotel that required you to pay for ice. There are only 2 ice machines in the whole place and they are both on the parking floors, not the floors that you actually stay on. Like I said, 1 to 2 nights may be ok, but any longer and it starts getting very uncomfortable. We will be looking elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

As others have said, this place is dated and pretty econo looking but what do you expect at this price when you are only 2 blocks from the beach. We spent $140 a night! You can't beat that price! The staff at the motel is very nice and accomodating and the room was clean and the sheets were clean. They let us leave our car in the lot and also let us use the pool shower and changing room and even gave us clean towels after we'd already checked out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Outdated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Just returned from a night at the Sandcastle in Rehoboth Beach. I would not stay there again. I would spend the extra money to stay elsewhere. While i cannot put my finger on any one specific complaint lets just say the place is very dated and in need of a dramatic makeover.

I stayed on the second floor, the same floor as the indoor pool and the smell of the pool permeated the entire floor. The lock on the slider to the balcony was not working and the door handle itself was broken. The door to the hallway had no secondary lock on it, however you could see where one once was by the screw holes but it had been ripped out.

The room had a feel of not being particularly clean. I am sure it had been changed but the place had look and feel that no matter what you did you would not feel it was clean. With so many locks broken you never felt completely safe either.

The good points were that they offer a parking garage, though not very well lit. The location is great, just a few blocks to the boardwalk and a great beach. The girl on duty when we checked in was pleasant, our room was ready early, and the price was good. However, even with all that I would not stay at the Sandcastle another night until they invest major $$$.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.