We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location, a bit rundown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Sandcastle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific Location, a bit rundown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just came home from a 2 night stay . The staff is super friendly and bend over backwards for you. The location can't be beat. We walked to everything. And having garage parking was awesome. They even let us keep the car parked on our last day after checkout.

The hallways in the motel were a bit dark, but not unsafe. The room was your typical beach motel. It was mostly clean but dated and worn. The carpet was worn in places, the ceiling tiles in the bathroom were peeling. A few things we mentioned after check-in were immediately taken care of. But we had clean beds, linens, towels, etc.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. I think they have stiff competition from The Oceanus across the street.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We started our trip at the Oceanus Motel across the street, but we had a horrendous experience (they called us at 10:30pm and then again at 12:30am saying we were being too loud- the first time we were watching TV quietly and the second time we were asleep; when we complained, the owner made us feel disrespected and uncomfortable)

We found the Sandcastle Motel across the boardwalk, and immediately we could tell that the customer service was infinitely better. The staff is sweet and helpful- they treated us like we were family.

Personally, I value customer service over anything else, which is why I feel the need to give the Sandcastle Motel five stars. This is not the place for you if you'd like a ritzy hotel; it has typical motel rooms with two double beds and a small balcony. It was perfectly comfortable for my girlfriend and me, but neither of us are too high maintenance. I would most definitely stay at here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Sandcastle is located on the main drag in Rehoboth close to everything in town. Unfortunately, the place has not been updated in any way in a good 40 years. The lobby is minimal, soda and ice machines are in the basement parking garage. One great perk- free covered parking for guests.

The rooms are minimalist. Ours had a microfridge under the kitchen type sink in the bedroom (made out of furring strips and studs with a coat of paint). The carpets are badly worn and stained throughout the hallways and in the guest rooms. Our bath vanity was cracked and repaired with caulk- I can't imagine there is any way to find a replacement for a circa 1970 vanity. Unfortunately the door didn't fully close to the bathroom either. There was a small patio with a plastic chair- no screen door though. The beds were not the nicest, nor were the linens.

There is an indoor pool, but we did not use it. It was raining while we were there, and there were buckets in the hall by the pool catching the water leaking through the roof. While the covered parking was great, a few of the floor drains from the upper deck parking lot had broken or missing drain pipes in the lower deck casing a few waterfalls.

The service was friendly, though basic.

Overall not a great place, but the location is fantastic. Set expectations appropriately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Is so convenient, staff friendly, free covered parking that staff extends before and after arrival/departure if space available (it was in September) which was VERY helpful and appreciated. Not upscale, but acceptably clean... shows wear as a beach hotel, Quiet, even right next to elevator. I would stay here again, use the money you save for a good dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This motel is in a great location-- walking distance to all the shops and the beach. However, it left a lot to be desired. My husband and I stayed here with his parents for a night in September. The place did not feel clean and was very dingy looking. The beds were absolutely terrible-- small double beds that were not comfortable at all. The room was tiny for 4 people. The balcony was so small and there was what looked like blood stains on the curtain. The price for what we got was ridiculous, especially in September. It was so unappealing that we decided to get our own room at a different hotel for the rest of the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for Labor Day and had a very average experience. It was WAY over-priced but felt safe and was a 5 minute walk to the board walk and beach.

Pros:
-Like 0.3 miles to the beach so a quick walk
-Free covered parking in their garage so you don't have to worry about your car on the street or feeding the meter
-Super friendly front desk staff
-Had 2 full sized beds that were pretty comfy
-No bed bugs (we checked)

Cons:
-WAY WAY WAY over priced - paid $250 for a night that should have been about $75/night.
-Hotel was old and dingey - it was clean but old carpet that was pulling up, old paint on the walls, old decor, chipping tile
-Have a mini fridge in the room without a microwave, which would be nice.
-The rooms have a "balcony" that overlooks a parking lot. So nothing lovely.

Also has an indoor pool that is small but clean, but like the overall hotel it was dingey.

So it's fine - perfectly adequate. But so over-priced for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We paid $250 a night because of labor day weekend and we wanted to be close to the beach. The location is great but the rooms are old and dingy with a mildewy smell. The housekeepers didnt come to clean the room until after 2pm and they didnt even change our sheets which were sandy from the beach. The receptionist was really sweet but I dont think I would stay here again. The price was outrageous for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.