We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay before evacuation caused by Hurricane Irene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Sandcastle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay before evacuation caused by Hurricane Irene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our family booked two rooms for a three night stay. The mixed reviews on tripadvisor concerned us a little, but thought we would give it a try anyway. We found the negative reviews to be greatly exaggerated. Yes, the hallways were dimly lit, but the walls and carpets were clean. Extra wattage was not needed. It was certainly safe. And yes, the garage was a tight squeeze, especially for those bringing their SUVs, but having a free parking spot in Rehoboth was worth it. (Just make sure you drive in and out very slowly.) The lighting was more than adequate. Once we parked our car, everywhere we wanted to go was within easy walking distance. Our rooms were on the back side of the motel. Although we didn't have an ocean view, we certainly enjoyed the quiet. It may have been quiet on the other side as well. Generally, the crowds in Rehoboth Beach are not too rowdy. We all found our beds to be comfortable. Our bathrooms were sparkling clean. The separate wet bar and small refrigerator were handy and gave us a little room to prepare snacks and drinks away from the bathroom. Our maid was polite, friendly, and helpful. It was the same with the front desk clerk who had to deal with numerous phone calls about the impending hurricane. She answered everyone in a friendly and professional manner. She was a very nice person who made everyone feel at home. The coffee was fine. The test? Our oldest daughter can be particular about her coffee and she had no problems with it. She even went back for refills. The outside stairs were an airy, easy climb with ample lighting in the evenings. The pool is green in color, but not because of dirt or algae or anything like that. That is its color by design. It was clean and refreshing with good circulation coming from the outdoor rooftop patio. We enjoyed walking to the beach by way of Baltimore Avenue so we could check out the many restaurants and shops we wanted to visit later. The Sandcastle Motel was perfect for our family gathering at the beach and we hope to get the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My family and I stayed here in one of their "big rooms". I read a lot of reviews of people saying it was dated but clean. I can handle dated, I was more worried about it being clean and since so many people said it was, I booked it. It does have a great location BUT we found it to be very dirty. There was dirt all around the room, you could tell they vaccumed only the walk-ways, which were still pretty dirty. The handle on the door to the small patio was hanging on by a thread and the door itself was filthy. The bathroom was just plain nasty. Black mildew every where, shower and shower curtain were black. You could tell it had been nothing more than wiped down for a VERY long time. The pool was cloudy and green, you could not even see the bottom. Spoke with head housekeeper and mentioned (very nicely I might add) that we were a little disappointed in the cleanliness of the room, he responded with "we don't have time to clean the rooms well" and "what do you expect for what you are paying" Well, I'm sorry for over $600 for 3 nights, I don't expect a brand-spanking new hotel but is the room at least being clean too much to expect for $600???? We explained we were just mentioning it because had we not he may not know just how dirty the room was when we found it, we remained respectful and light. He basically went off the deep end on us making excuse after excuse for the filth then said, if you can find somewhere better I will give you your money back and you can go. So we did! I have to mention though, the other housekeeper and the woman at the front desk were just absolutely wonderful and we appreciated them so much, they were very sweet. I also need to mention, we did look in other rooms and they seemed to be very clean. But the head housekeeper gentleman was rude and obviously cannot handle an ounce of criticism. So I would say you are taking your chances at this hotel, you may get a clean room, you may not. I would never stay here again though. We went to the hotel right behind it (The Breakers) and got a great room at a great hotel for just a bit more money, made the rest of the trip much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, New Yorl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Sandcastle Motel was a vry adequate place to stay for our recent visit to Rehoboth Beach. It was by no means a 5-star motel but fit our needs perfectly and was only a short jaunt to the beach. Have stayed there before and certainly will do so again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found the Sandcastle Motel on line and, of course, immediately checked it out on Trip Advisor. While the reviews were not great, we got the price we wanted, and booked anyway. The reviews are far too critical. The Sandcastle is in easy walking distance to the beach. There is more than adequate parking in a garage. The people at the front desk were wonderful, and extremely helpful. They provided us with any information, or answers we sought, with a smile and as soon as we asked. The rooms were very clean. The housekeepers were very nice, and did a great job with our room. It was clean, though things are a little dinged, as it's a little older. The Sandcastle is a great value, with friendly & helpful service and a great price. How cam you ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear DE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Rooms are basic and clean. Staff was courteous and helpful allowing for early check in and parking The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, bars and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The motel is just one block from ocean. You can get a somewhat ocean view if you get a room on the second or third floor. The walls are thin and we could hear the conversations next door. The location is generally very quiet and very close to some nice little restaurants and a a very short walk to a small market/grocery store. We bought fresh fruit there and took it with us to the beach. We decided to choose this hotel for location and price. It was $100 cheaper than any other hotel in the same area for the same dates. Ceiling was peeling. Room smelled musty. The corners in the bathroom looked as if they were never touched. The sheets were clean. The AC-we were either to hot or too cold. There were cigarette ashes on our towels and clothes that we hung on chairs on the balcony over night to dry. If you are only using the room to sleep like we did, it was okay. It had a mini-fridge. The room had a TV with minimal channels. We were price hunting because we wanted to stretch our bucks so we could stay longer and the motel worked for that situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is very old and well worn. It does need some updating, but the room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable and free parking! We never used our car the entire trip! The shower had good pressure and always had hot water.yeah the hallways were a little dingy they needed more light and maybe some color to it but I never felt unsafe. the pool area had a funky odor ( too much chlorine?) but the water was ok and we enjoyed swimming in the pool. great location 2 blocks from boardwalk and restaurants.We had 4 double beds in our room so for a larger family the price and location were well worth it. Plus free wifi!. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.