We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Motel in Rehoboth Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Motel in Rehoboth Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found the Sandcastle Motel on line and, of course, immediately checked it out on Trip Advisor. While the reviews were not great, we got the price we wanted, and booked anyway. The reviews are far too critical. The Sandcastle is in easy walking distance to the beach. There is more than adequate parking in a garage. The people at the front desk were wonderful, and extremely helpful. They provided us with any information, or answers we sought, with a smile and as soon as we asked. The rooms were very clean. The housekeepers were very nice, and did a great job with our room. It was clean, though things are a little dinged, as it's a little older. The Sandcastle is a great value, with friendly & helpful service and a great price. How cam you ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
34
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bear DE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Rooms are basic and clean. Staff was courteous and helpful allowing for early check in and parking The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, bars and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The motel is just one block from ocean. You can get a somewhat ocean view if you get a room on the second or third floor. The walls are thin and we could hear the conversations next door. The location is generally very quiet and very close to some nice little restaurants and a a very short walk to a small market/grocery store. We bought fresh fruit there and took it with us to the beach. We decided to choose this hotel for location and price. It was $100 cheaper than any other hotel in the same area for the same dates. Ceiling was peeling. Room smelled musty. The corners in the bathroom looked as if they were never touched. The sheets were clean. The AC-we were either to hot or too cold. There were cigarette ashes on our towels and clothes that we hung on chairs on the balcony over night to dry. If you are only using the room to sleep like we did, it was okay. It had a mini-fridge. The room had a TV with minimal channels. We were price hunting because we wanted to stretch our bucks so we could stay longer and the motel worked for that situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is very old and well worn. It does need some updating, but the room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable and free parking! We never used our car the entire trip! The shower had good pressure and always had hot water.yeah the hallways were a little dingy they needed more light and maybe some color to it but I never felt unsafe. the pool area had a funky odor ( too much chlorine?) but the water was ok and we enjoyed swimming in the pool. great location 2 blocks from boardwalk and restaurants.We had 4 double beds in our room so for a larger family the price and location were well worth it. Plus free wifi!. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle over the weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The motel was clean and the staff was friendly. Check in is at 3:00, but we arrived at 11:00am. We are able to check in at 11:00am without an additional fee. The motel has the best rates and is only two blocks from the ocean. We could see the ocean from our room, which didn't cost any extra. The parking garage is a tigh squeeze if you have a dually. I rate this motel a 4!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The title of this review pretty much says it all... If you want a clean, friendly motel, for a good value that is located in the center of town. The Sandcastle is your spot!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Simply put. The Sandcastle is clean, good value, and the staff is ver friendly. The highly recommend it. Oh, and its located in the center of everything in town if your a bar hopper

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.