We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time visit - just as good as the 1rst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
1 review
“2nd time visit - just as good as the 1rst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great stay - had 1 problem - but the staff corrected it and made it up to us (thank you Jim!).

My wife and I made our first trip to Avenue Inn in 2010 with our son. Room overlooked Rehoboth Ave. Had a great time. So we came back, this time with our son (now 4) and daughter (2). Booked 3 days in advance for a stay in July, and no rooms were open in the main location so we stayed in the Avenue II location. Rooms were very large and clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the rear (facing Wilmington Ave); we had other family on the 3rd floor in the front (facing Rehoboth Ave). We noticed that front was quieter that the rear due to the bar next door. My wife and I actually liked the ambiance of the bar - we could sit on the rocking chairs outside of our room and listen to the music. No problem with the noise filtering its way into our room, and our 2 kids slept great.

Thanks for another great stay and great value - see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Johnathan,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us at the Avenue. Your kind words are the reward for which we work hard to achieve. I am grateful to you for taking the time to write the review and I sincerely appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon, either at the Inn or Avenue II.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    205
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
388
411
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is my families fourth time staying at the Avenue Inn, third in the Avenue 2 for our Annual Williams Family Rehoboth Beach Vacation. As always, we had a blast and the Avenue Inn is like a home away from home: Clean, friendly and helpful staff, awesome location, great indoor pool... I could go on and on!! My 4 kids absolutely love Lew and his escorts to the Boardwalk and back. Lew is an awesome addition to the staff at Avenue Inn and we truly appreciate him and his rides. The complinentary breakfast is superb while the cookies and wine are a great touch! We will be staying there again next year, thanks Avenue Inn :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Lauren W,

Repeat guests like you and your family are what we strive for here at the Avenue. Our staff works extremely hard so that when you leave, you look at a calendar to decide when you are going to be able to return. As for Lew - he is special - we're lucky to have him. Thanks for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is the first time I have been to Rehoboth and stayed in lodging other than our friends' house.
The Avenue Inn exceeded our expectations. It was cheerfully decorated, clean, spacious and had comfortable beds and wonderful amenities. (guaranteed parking spot, wine and cheese, and a great breakfast). The location was perfect- you could walk easily to the beach, boardwalk, shopping and restaurants. Bike rental shop just a half a block away. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: If you care about having a view, ask for a room with one. We didn't and looked out at a roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Betsy S,

Thank you very much for your review. It is truly a pleasure to hear from a first time guest that we exceeded their expectations and plan on returning. That is definitely our mission. If we can make any future stays even better - please let me know. We look forward to a future visit to Rehoboth and to the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family does a weekend in Rehobeth Beach pretty much every year for the past 25 years. We have stayed many places but I must say staying at The Avenue this year has been amazing. They completely redid the lobby area which took up some parking, but the beachy chic décor was great! We loved the wine and cheese and the breakfast (although we still managed to hit the Royal Treat down the street). One of the biggest perks was the shuttle to the beach! We selected this location because it is only a few blocks from the beach but having a shuttle was the icing on the cake!! the "Shuttle Captain" was the most helpful person and even managed to hold onto my mom's wheelchair as he whisked us to the beach. He even had cards where if you needed him he would come pick you up! The indoor pool, hot tub and steam room were also perfect. We didn't have an accessible room, but they got us a shower chair for my mom to make it easier for her. Lastly when my nephew's swim trunk blew off the balcony, the front desk staff immediately were able to retrieve them.

After we calculated how much it would have been to stay further on Rt 1, The Avenue's location and price was unbeatable and worth every penny. All of the staff were wonderful (including the young lady who recommended Ambrosia restaurant) and we look forward to staying here next year!

OH AND THE COOKIES!!! Can't forget that!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
taufai,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Avenue and your kind words here. From Lew (the Shuttle Captain) to our front desk staff, from Lisa and her breakfast staff to the maintenance staff (who retrieved those swimming trunks) - we all work hard to make every guest enjoy every stay and leave the Avenue feeling like "we need to check our calendar to see how soon we can get back to the Avenue". We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to providing the 5 star service on your next visit to the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Avenue Inn never fails to impress us. This was our fourth visit in 5 years, the first time in July (all prior visits were in September). Clean hotel, tastefully decorated and obviously updated. Included breakfast fed our family of four and kept us full until boardwalk food tempted us at lunch. Wine and cheese in the evening and cookies at bedtime were sweet perks. Coffee all day kept us running after the kids. Location can't be beaten, and Lew giving shuttle rides to the beach (just 1.5 blocks away, which can feel unending dragging beach equipment for the kids) on the golf cart is a family favorite. We won't stay anywhere else in Rehoboth.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
jlh12495,

We work hard to be the #1 hotel in Rehoboth so when it pays off for us by you choosing to stay with us we feel rewarded. It is our goal to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. We understand how important the first impression is to a guest so from the minute your walk through our doors we want to deliver a special and unique experience to you. I am pleased that we have succeeded in delivering a wonderful hotel stay for you. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our third trip (second after the renovation) was met with friendly staff and great hospitality. Now the kids are old enough we enjoyed the indoor pool/hot tub. We love the location and the renovation was done very tastefully and we look forward to our next stay at Avenue Inn. I do have one feedback: we were in a second floor room this time and the bed mattresses were a bit sagging, and the bedding and the sheets felt a little dirty or worn out. It looks like the bathrooms were renovated but the bedding appears due for a little work. We do like having the microwave and the mini fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Nova_Vacationer,

Thank you for reviewing the Avenue. I wish you had contacted the front desk with regards to the mattress in your room. We certainly could have had it checked out and replaced if necessary. With regards to the sheets feeling dirty - I can assure you they were clean - however, those too, could have been replaced if we had known. We're glad you enjoy our location and that you liked the renovations. We look forward to your next visit to the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our 35th anniversary and the Ave. had champagne and gourmet cupcakes waiting in our room. Super clean facility and friendly staff. Complimentary wine and cheese hour, coffee 24/7 in the lobby and cookies at the main desk along with a complimentary breakfast. Golf cart shuttle to and from the beach along with complimentary beach chairs and towels. Parking is tough in Rehoboth but the Ave. has their own underground parking. Rehoboth is a great beach town with tons of shopping. The hardest part of our stay was deciding what great restaurant to eat at. We ended up having dinner at the Salt Air which turned out to be a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
KenS,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your special day. I am happy we fit the bill for you and made the occasion a memorable one for you. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Avenue and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.