We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Avenue Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Dover, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love Avenue Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We use the Avenue Inn for vacations and overnights for the polar plunge. We love it so much that for the plunge, we reserve our room a year in advance! Love the stainless steel pool with the hot tub, sauna.

Room Tip: rooms 309 and 310 are right across from the pool,but the hall can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We're pleased that your visit to the Avenue Inn has been your choice of hotels in Rehoboth during the Polar Bear plunge. Each year it seems Rehoboth is getting busier and busier during this event. The Special Olympics of Delaware benefits so much from this worthwhile event. As for the noice - I am certain that the number of children attending this event does increase the number of children staying at the hotel. We want everyone to enjoy themselves while staying at the Avenue, but are certainly wanting that to happen without it affecting other guests that are here. If it ever becomes an issue - please call the front desk and we can always calm things down, if that is needed. See you next year at Polar Bear or sooner if you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    203
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
385
402
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've stayed here several times. Rooms are always spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is good. The new lobby and lounge and very nice. Located a few blocks from lots of fine restaurants and a very nice place to just relax after the days festivities. We're going back in a .month.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear K.P.

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate individuals like yourself that become lifetime friends. We look forward to your return visit and if there is anything I can do to make your stay even better, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the welcome at the front desk to the room to the lounge for a few drinks this is a great little find. My husband and I plan on returning. It was a cold winter weekend but there was plenty to do and the hotel was a perfect spot to hang out. We want to return when the weather is better, this would be a great location to park the car and explore the beach and town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Joan M,

I moved to Rehoboth Beach 23 years ago and fell in love with the town immediately. Your description of "Small Town Excellence" hits the nail on the head. We want the experience at the Avenue Inn to be exactly what you describe. "From your contact with our front desk personnel to the stay in the room, to your visit to our lounge, we want the Avenue Inn to be the perfect spot to hang out." We look forward to your next visit to Rehoboth and to the Avenue Inn. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I visited the Avenue Inn for a winter weekend getaway. The Avenue Inn exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The fitness center is well equipped; the pool was well heated. The hot tub was closed, but that was due to icy conditions on the pool deck from the cold, wet weather. Nothing they could do about that. Breakfast was well prepared, varied and tasty. The coffee was superb! The Inn is located on Wilmington Avenue, with an entrance on Rehoboth Avenue. The location is central to everything. The only thing I would change was the freezing cold weather -- but the inn made for a lovely romantic weekend in spite of the weather.

Room Tip: Depending on what you prefer, the Wilmington Ave side is probably quieter during the summer season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kathy,

We're happy you and your husband chose the Avenue Inn for your weekend getaway. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. Our staff does work extremely hard to make your time at the Avenue a pleasant visit. You are correct that we haven't figured a way around those snowy days. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Mom turned 77 this year and, as usual, wanted to celebrate with a 'girls weekend' in Rehoboth Beach. We had considered other hotels based on the TriipAdvisor reviews and settled on the Avenue Inn.

I have to say that this weekend was top notch from start to finish:

I called on Wednesday to see if there was a room available with two queen size beds, a balcony and a nice view of Rehoboth Avenue. Mary Lou answered the call and asked if she could make a suggestion? Sure! She recommended that we stay in the Luxury Queen Suite, which not only had all that I had asked for but included a fireplace and queen size sofa bed as well. Sold!

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted very warmly by Melissa. She checked us in and told us that we were the only folks at the hotel that night so we basically had the place to ourselves. We checked into the room, which was everything that was promised, and enjoyed the view of snow covered Rehoboth Avenue.

I went down to the gym, which was very nicely equipped, while Mom and Julie unpacked. To our delight, there there three champagne glasses waiting for us with a chilled bottle of champs in the fridge. Happy Birthday from the Avenue Inn! Delicious!

We grabbed our drinks and headed to the pool, which is located on the thrid floor. It's indoor and headed and stainless steel. The pool was very refreshing as was the sauna and the steam room. LOVED the steam room. But more than that, the outside hot tub was open and waiting for us and there is nothing that compares to exiting a heated pool and stepping out into 10 degree temperature to jump into the hot tub! Sitting out on the deck, looking over the sky line of Rehoboth was just breathtaking.

After our exursion to the pool area, we changed and headed downstairs where Melissa was very accomodating with serving our wine, even though we were way past the 5 to 6 timeframe. We ventured into the Avenue Inn Lounge, where we (unbeknownst to us at the time) met one of the owners of the hotel, there conducting a business meeting. This guy was so down to earth and so friendly - we had no idea that he was anything other than a visitor as well. Erin was our bartender/server and while the menu in the Lounge is small, it is so satifying. We ordered the hummus and the spinach dip, both made from scratch and absolutely delicious. That was our dinner and was more than satisfying - so much so that we had it again the next night!

The room was very comfortable and quiet, the mattresses were very soft and my sister and I took turns sleeping on the sofa, which was equally soft and did not need to be opened at all. The ONLY thing that I would improve upon is the bathroom, which really could have used a double sink.

The room had more than enough towels, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, mouthwash and even included make up removal pads. There was a fridge and microwave as well.

Since were were the only folks in the hotel on Thursday night, there was not a breakfast on Friday morning which was fine by us. The hotel sent us down to the Robin Hood Diner on Rehoboth Avenue and picked up our entire tab, tip and all! There was a full breakfast on Saturday morning, however, and man oh man was it good. I have never had such good food in a hotel before. Never. The French Toast is indescribable: it was like a little muffin, loaded up with banana and was sweet enough that no syrup was necessary. It was delicious! As were the eggs - also like little muffins, loaded with with sausage and bacon or spinach. There were pastries and bagels and breads and fresh (yes, FRESH) fruit.

Coffee and tea and ice water are available 24 hours a day.

The staff is just incredible, to the point where we hugged most when we left. They were so open and friendly and you just felt like you knew they your entire life.

I will go back to the Avenue Inn, without a doubt. I have never been made to feel so welcome in a hotel before.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on third floor if you want a balcony. Only because you can see more of the skyline th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
J E

What can I say - except a profound "Thank You". Our entire staff strives to meet those expectations which you, your sister, and your mom experienced during your visit to the Avenue. We want every guest to leave the Avenue Inn with a sense of being part of our family and closest friends. Mary Lou works extra hard to make each guest feel special. Melissa gets "it". She understands the whole idea of "customer service." Our breakfast room staff, headed by Lisa do a great job with the breakfast menu and go out of their way to insure each guest leaves the breakfast room pleased with their breakfast. Your description of one of the owners is spot on. All of our owners are exactly like you describe. We welcome your next visit and if there is anything I can do to make your next visit even better, please let us know. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsyvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great experience! Very clean and fresh. Wonderful service and nice location. Walking distance to everything. Free wine and cheese social each night, free breakfast voucher across the street at Sammy's during slow season. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
J D,

When a guest takes the time to post their comments on Trip Advisor, it is truly appreciated by our entire staff. Thank you. We're glad that you enjoyed the amenities like Wine & Cheese social as well as the Chocolate Chip Cookies. Thank you for choosing the Avenue Inn and we look forward to your next visit to Rehoboth Beach and continued visits to the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Prefect place to stay. Recommend it to everyone. Staff is excellent. Clean hotel. Yummy chocolate chip cookies. Free wine and cheese. Heated pool is nice. Great central location to everything in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Theresa,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know how we are doing. Let us know if we can ever make your stay better.

Jim Powers
General Manager
Avenue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.