We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Marlton, NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I visited the Avenue Inn for a winter weekend getaway. The Avenue Inn exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The fitness center is well equipped; the pool was well heated. The hot tub was closed, but that was due to icy conditions on the pool deck from the cold, wet weather. Nothing they could do about that. Breakfast was well prepared, varied and tasty. The coffee was superb! The Inn is located on Wilmington Avenue, with an entrance on Rehoboth Avenue. The location is central to everything. The only thing I would change was the freezing cold weather -- but the inn made for a lovely romantic weekend in spite of the weather.

Room Tip: Depending on what you prefer, the Wilmington Ave side is probably quieter during the summer season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kathy,

We're happy you and your husband chose the Avenue Inn for your weekend getaway. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. Our staff does work extremely hard to make your time at the Avenue a pleasant visit. You are correct that we haven't figured a way around those snowy days. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    176
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
305
353
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Mom turned 77 this year and, as usual, wanted to celebrate with a 'girls weekend' in Rehoboth Beach. We had considered other hotels based on the TriipAdvisor reviews and settled on the Avenue Inn.

I have to say that this weekend was top notch from start to finish:

I called on Wednesday to see if there was a room available with two queen size beds, a balcony and a nice view of Rehoboth Avenue. Mary Lou answered the call and asked if she could make a suggestion? Sure! She recommended that we stay in the Luxury Queen Suite, which not only had all that I had asked for but included a fireplace and queen size sofa bed as well. Sold!

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted very warmly by Melissa. She checked us in and told us that we were the only folks at the hotel that night so we basically had the place to ourselves. We checked into the room, which was everything that was promised, and enjoyed the view of snow covered Rehoboth Avenue.

I went down to the gym, which was very nicely equipped, while Mom and Julie unpacked. To our delight, there there three champagne glasses waiting for us with a chilled bottle of champs in the fridge. Happy Birthday from the Avenue Inn! Delicious!

We grabbed our drinks and headed to the pool, which is located on the thrid floor. It's indoor and headed and stainless steel. The pool was very refreshing as was the sauna and the steam room. LOVED the steam room. But more than that, the outside hot tub was open and waiting for us and there is nothing that compares to exiting a heated pool and stepping out into 10 degree temperature to jump into the hot tub! Sitting out on the deck, looking over the sky line of Rehoboth was just breathtaking.

After our exursion to the pool area, we changed and headed downstairs where Melissa was very accomodating with serving our wine, even though we were way past the 5 to 6 timeframe. We ventured into the Avenue Inn Lounge, where we (unbeknownst to us at the time) met one of the owners of the hotel, there conducting a business meeting. This guy was so down to earth and so friendly - we had no idea that he was anything other than a visitor as well. Erin was our bartender/server and while the menu in the Lounge is small, it is so satifying. We ordered the hummus and the spinach dip, both made from scratch and absolutely delicious. That was our dinner and was more than satisfying - so much so that we had it again the next night!

The room was very comfortable and quiet, the mattresses were very soft and my sister and I took turns sleeping on the sofa, which was equally soft and did not need to be opened at all. The ONLY thing that I would improve upon is the bathroom, which really could have used a double sink.

The room had more than enough towels, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, mouthwash and even included make up removal pads. There was a fridge and microwave as well.

Since were were the only folks in the hotel on Thursday night, there was not a breakfast on Friday morning which was fine by us. The hotel sent us down to the Robin Hood Diner on Rehoboth Avenue and picked up our entire tab, tip and all! There was a full breakfast on Saturday morning, however, and man oh man was it good. I have never had such good food in a hotel before. Never. The French Toast is indescribable: it was like a little muffin, loaded up with banana and was sweet enough that no syrup was necessary. It was delicious! As were the eggs - also like little muffins, loaded with with sausage and bacon or spinach. There were pastries and bagels and breads and fresh (yes, FRESH) fruit.

Coffee and tea and ice water are available 24 hours a day.

The staff is just incredible, to the point where we hugged most when we left. They were so open and friendly and you just felt like you knew they your entire life.

I will go back to the Avenue Inn, without a doubt. I have never been made to feel so welcome in a hotel before.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on third floor if you want a balcony. Only because you can see more of the skyline th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
J E

What can I say - except a profound "Thank You". Our entire staff strives to meet those expectations which you, your sister, and your mom experienced during your visit to the Avenue. We want every guest to leave the Avenue Inn with a sense of being part of our family and closest friends. Mary Lou works extra hard to make each guest feel special. Melissa gets "it". She understands the whole idea of "customer service." Our breakfast room staff, headed by Lisa do a great job with the breakfast menu and go out of their way to insure each guest leaves the breakfast room pleased with their breakfast. Your description of one of the owners is spot on. All of our owners are exactly like you describe. We welcome your next visit and if there is anything I can do to make your next visit even better, please let us know. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsyvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great experience! Very clean and fresh. Wonderful service and nice location. Walking distance to everything. Free wine and cheese social each night, free breakfast voucher across the street at Sammy's during slow season. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
J D,

When a guest takes the time to post their comments on Trip Advisor, it is truly appreciated by our entire staff. Thank you. We're glad that you enjoyed the amenities like Wine & Cheese social as well as the Chocolate Chip Cookies. Thank you for choosing the Avenue Inn and we look forward to your next visit to Rehoboth Beach and continued visits to the Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Prefect place to stay. Recommend it to everyone. Staff is excellent. Clean hotel. Yummy chocolate chip cookies. Free wine and cheese. Heated pool is nice. Great central location to everything in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Theresa,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know how we are doing. Let us know if we can ever make your stay better.

Jim Powers
General Manager
Avenue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a great place to stay. Perfect location, underground parking, indoor pool, sauna. Great complimentary breakfast. The room I was in had a fireplace, which was perfect in the winter. I was only there for two nights but I will definitely be back. I had no idea beach hotels could be so nice. And perfect any time of the year.

Room Tip: Grab a room that faces Rehoboth Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others about your experience at the Avenue Inn. Our staff strives everyday to be the best at the beach in our service to our guests and provide them with the value they expect from their dollars spent. Letting other know that we are meeting your expectations is rewarding. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Jim Powers
General Manager
Avenue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this place on a day trip to Delaware and ended up staying 3 nights! The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the location is Awesome. This hotel is located right on the main drag in Rehobeth Beach, our room overlooked all the activities and Restaurants. If you are in the area, make it a must!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Avenue Inn during your recent visit to Rehoboth Beach. We truly want each and every guest to leave the Avenue Inn with the feeling they've just stayed at their "home away from home". When those expectations are met and our guests take the time to let others know how they feel, we are very appreciative.

Jim Powers
General Manager
Avenue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Avenue ever since it was being built. The place is always spic and span, and the staff is wonderful. Last year they did a complete remodel of the already beautiful lobby and sitting area. What a fantastic job they done !! A larger breakfast area, sitting area and a lounge for a relaxing beverage. When in Rehoboth Beach there is no better place to stay.. There is a great breakfast as well as wine and cheese in the afternoon and hot Chocolate Chip Cookies at 8pm. What more could you want. The staff is second to none.

Room Tip: Pool and hot tub is on the 3rd floor and a room on the avenue is real nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list